KU's Briscoe Named Semifinalist For Biletnikoff Award

Oct. 26, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas junior Dezmon Briscoe was named one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top wide receiver.

It marks the second straight season a Jayhawk receiver has been a semifinalist for the award, as current KU senior Kerry Meier was on the list last season. Meier, who ranks second in the nation in receptions and 23rd in receiving yards, did not make this year’s semifinalist list.

Briscoe ranks third in the country in receiving yards per game at 121.83, while he is tied for seventh in receptions at 7.50 and 10th in all-purpose yardage at 165.00.

In six games this season Briscoe has pulled in 45 passes for 731 yards and four touchdowns. The 6-3, 202-pounder from Dallas, Tex. has caught at least four passes in every game and registered four 100-yard receiving games. He had a season-best 12 catches for 186 yards and two touchdowns against Iowa State.

Briscoe is also on the Maxwell Award watch list. That honor recognizes the top college player in the nation.

Briscoe is KU’s all-time receiving yardage leader with 2,634 yards, while trailing teammate Meier on the receptions list. Meier has 186 catches while Briscoe has 180. Briscoe’s 26 career touchdowns and 11 career 100-yard games are school records.

The Jayhawks will next be in action at Texas Tech Saturday at 2:30 p.m. in a game televised on ABC.

Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists

Freddie Barnes, Bowling Green

Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas

Vincent Brown, San Diego State

Eric Decker, Minnesota

Marshwan Gilyard, Cincinnati

AJ Green, Georgia

Jordan Shipley, Texas

Demaryius Thomas

Golden Tate, Notre Dame

Mike Williams, Syracuse