KU's Reesing Named O'Brien Semifinalist For Third Straight Season

Oct. 26, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – For the third straight year Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing has been named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien national quarterback award it was announced Monday.

Reesing, a 5-11, senior from Austin, Texas, has once again produced an honor-worthy season. Through seven games Reesing ranks among the top 10 in the NCAA in four different statistical categories, including fourth in passing yards (314.86) and completions (26.43), fifth in total offense (326.00) and tied for ninth in points responsible for (142.33).

He has guided Kansas to a 5-2 record, while throwing for at least 300 yards in four games and at least 400 yards twice. He registered 442 yards and four touchdowns on 37 of 49 passing against Iowa State and then hit 30 of 51 passes for 401 yards and two touchdowns at Colorado the next week.

Reesing has been working his way up the Big 12 career passing charts this season and currently ranks fifth in passing yards (9,782), sixth in touchdown passes (83) and seventh in total offense (10,387).

Among active NCAA players Reesing is third in career passing yards per game (271.7), fourth in total offense yards per game (288.5) and fifth in four other categories, including touchdown passes and touchdowns responsible for (96).

On the year, Reesing has completed 185 of 285 attempts for 2,240 yards and 15 touchdowns to seven interceptions.

Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as Finalists by voting as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. Fan voting will close at noon CST on Nov. 22. Finalists will be announced on Nov. 23. The Fan Vote accounts for five percent of each round of the voting process.

The 2009 O’Brien Winner will be announced live on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 10 on ESPN and will be honored at the 33rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 15, 2010 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2009 O’Brien Semifinalists

Matt Barkley, USC

Daryll Clark, Penn State

Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame

Jacory Harris, Miami

Case Kennum, Houston

Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan

Jake Locker, Washington

Colt McCoy, Texas

Kellen Moore, Boise State

Tony Pike, Cincinnati

Todd Reesing, Kansas

Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State

Ricky Stanzi, Iowa

Bill Stull, Pittsburgh

Tim Tebow, Florida