Kansas Cross Country travels to Stillwater, Okla. to compete in the Big 12 Cross Country Championships.

Oct. 26, 2010


The Kansas men’s and women’s Cross Country teams will journey to Stillwater, Okla. for the Big 12 Championships Saturday, October 30, 2010.

The Big 12 Championships are hosted by Oklahoma State University, and are run on the OSU Cross Country Course in Stillwater, Okla.

The men’s team will look for a strong showing from their leaders, junior Donny Wasinger and senior Nick Caprario, both of whom ran a career-best 8K time at the ISU Pre-Nationals in Terre Haute, Ind, on October 16. Wasinger finished with a time of 24:33.7, while Caprario ran the 8K in 25:18.3.

They Jayhawks will also be relying heavily on junior Austin Bussing, who also set a career-best time of 25:21 at Terre Haute – along with Bussing, sophomore Josh Baden and freshman Josh Munsch finished fourth and fifth, respectively, for Kansas at the ISU Pre-Nationals, and will be looked upon to set the tone for the Jayhawks.

Rounding out the list of runners competing for the Jayhawks are sophomore Ben Wilson, freshmen Nikki Trooien-Smith, Kaman Schneider and Jose Luis Munoz.

The Kansas women enter the Big 12 Championships after posting an 18th-place finish at the ISU Pre-Nationals, junior Rebeka Stowe clocked a career-best 6K time of 20:43.9, while redshirt freshman Natalie Becker finished second for the Jayhawks with a time of 21:25. Sophomore Tessa Turcotte and Junior Kara Windisch finished the race only two seconds apart – Turcotte finished with a time of 22:08.4, while Windisch ran in 22:10.2.

The Jayhawks will be lead by Becker, Stowe, Turcotte and Windisch this weekend in Stillwater.

Also running for the Jayhawk women are Senior Amanda Miller, junior Cori Christensen, sophomores Brenna Farren, Kyra Kilwein, Allie Marquis and Kathleen Thompson.

The championships will begin with the women’s 6,000-meter run at 10 a.m. CT, followed by the men’s 8,000-meter run at 11 a.m. at the OSU Cross Country Course. The top men’s and women’s teams are crowned league champion, while the top 15 individuals in each race are named all-conference.