Reesing Named O'Brien Award Semifinalist For Second Straight Year

Oct. 27, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing was one of 13 players named as a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award it was announced on Monday. It marks the second consecutive year Reesing was named a semifinalist.

Nearly half of the semifinalists are from the Big 12 Conference as Reesing was joined on the list by Sam Bradford of Oklahoma, Chase Daniel of Missouri, Graham Harrell of Texas Tech, Colt McCoy of Texas and Zac Robinson of Oklahoma State.

Three finalists will be named on Nov. 24. The winner of the award will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11.

Reesing, a 5-11, 200-pound junior from Austin, Texas, has set 31 school records in his brief Kansas career. With 6,166 career passing yards, he is within 245 yards of passing Frank Seurer’s career passing yardage record of 6,410.

Entering this week’s game against Kansas State, Reesing’s 2008 national rankings include sixth in completions (26.38 per game), seventh in passing yards (309.50 per game), ninth in total offense (324.62 per game), 14th in points responsible for (15.75) and 17th in pass efficiency (152.18).

This season he has guided the Jayhawks to a 5-3 record with all three losses coming to ranked teams. He has completed 211 of 306 attempts (69 percent) for 2,476 yards with 19 touchdowns and eight interceptions. He has thrown for 300 yards in five of eight games.

Fans are able to vote for semifinalist candidates once daily at The voting will continue throughout the semifinalist and finalist rounds with five percent of the final tally coming directly from the fan vote.

2008 O’Brien Semifinalists

Sam Bradford SO Oklahoma Big 12

Daryll Clark JR Penn State Big Ten

Chase Daniel SR Missouri Big 12


Graham Harrell SR Texas Tech Big 12

David Johnson SR Tulsa C-USA

Colt McCoy JR Texas Big 12

Todd Reesing JR Kansas Big 12

Zac Robinson JR Oklahoma State Big 12

Mark Sanchez JR USC Pac-10

Matthew Stafford JR Georgia SEC

Tim Tebow JR Florida SEC

John Parker Wilson SR Alabama SEC