Kansas Opens Exhibition Play Against Fort Hays State

Oct. 30, 2006


Complete Game Notes in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Matchup: Fort Hays State Lady Tigers at Kansas Jayhawks
Date: Wednesday, Nov. 1
Tip-off: 7 p.m.
Location: Lawrence. Kan.
Venue: Allen Fieldhouse
Capacity: 16,300
Series: FHSU leads 5-4
KU Coach: Bonnie Henrickson
Record: 187-91 overall and 29-29 at KU
vs. FHSU: 1-0 (preseason)
FHSU Coach: Annette Wiles
Record: 274-113 overall and 110-61 at FHSU
vs. KU: 0-2 (preseason)

-Jayhawk Radio Network
Play-by-Play: Nate Bukaty
Color Analyst: Brenda VanLengen

-Sunflower Broadband Channel 6
Play-by-Play: Kevin Romary
Color Analyst: Steven Davis

-Live Audio
The University of Kansas hosts Fort Hays State in its first of two exhibition games to start the 2006-07 season Wednesday, Nov. 1. Tip-off is set for 7 p.m. at Allen Fieldhouse. Bonnie Henrickson begins her third season at the helm of the women’s basketball program after leading the Jayhawks to their first postseason appearance since 2000 and a 17-13 record last season.

-Seven freshmen will make their debut in a Kansas uniform. KU’s roster also consists of seven returning players including two starters: junior Taylor McIntosh and sophomore Ivana Catic.

-Kansas holds a 27-9 all-time record in exhibition games and has won 18 of its last 20 preseason contests. See Page 3 for complete preseason exhibition results.

-Tonight’s game will mark the seventh time the Jayhawks have played an in-state Division II foe in the preseason.

-KU defeated Fort Hays State, 88-49, on Nov. 9, 2005, in Bonnie Henrickson’s debut as head coach. KU is 3-0 in preseason exhibition games against the Lady Tigers.

-Fort Hays State leads the regular season series with Kansas, 5-4. All nine games were played during a six-year span in the early 1970’s (Feb. 21, 1970 to Feb. 20, 1976). However, Kansas won the last two games of the regular season series by a combined 77 points.

-The Jayhawks will host Washburn in an exhibition game on Sunday, Nov. 5 at 2 p.m. before opening the regular season on Saturday, Nov. 11. KU will play Seton Hall at 4 p.m. in the first round of the WBCA/Metro Sports Classic held at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Mo.

The Jayhawks enter the 2006-07 season with a wealth of young athletic players mixed with two returning starters in Taylor McIntosh and Ivana Catic. Marked as the 20th best recruiting class by All-Star Girls Report, the Jayhawks will have several new faces on the court with seven freshmen on the roster.

The Lady Tigers have posted back-to-back 20-plus win seasons including a 21-7 campaign last year. Head coach Annette Wiles led Fort Hays State to a second place finish during its last season competing in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference. FHSU enters it’s first year in the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association with two returning starters, senior Ashlee Gustin and junior Katie Deighton. Gustin led the Lady Tigers with 15.6 points per contest while pulling down 7.5 boards. Nine of the Lady Tigers 11 players are from the state of Kansas.

Junior Taylor McIntosh and sophomore Ivana Catic have been named co-captains for the 2006-07 season. KU’s most experienced players, McIntosh and Catic have combined to start 81 games for the Crimson and Blue.

The Jayhawks television and radio coverage is one of the best in the country. KU will be featured on television 24 time this season, including all 18 contests at Allen Fieldhouse. Kansas will also appear on national television four times.

Among the Jayhawk Radio Network affiliates carrying the 2006-07 season includes WIBW (580 AM) which boasts the 11th largest signal in the country. KLWN (1320 AM) of Lawrence will join KCSP (610 AM), weekend games, and KXTR (1660 AM), weeknight games, are a few of the affiliates fans can use to listen to Jayhawk basketball.

The University of Kansas was tabbed 10th in the preseason poll voted on by the league’s head coaches. Defending conference champion Oklahoma was picked to win its second consecutive Big 12 Conference women’s basketball title. The Sooners received all 11 possible first place votes for a total of 121 points. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.