Soccer Team Reels in Big 12 Honors

Nov. 1, 2004

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Following a regular season Big 12 Championship which saw the team set school records in wins and national rankings, the Big 12 Conference selected seven members of the University of Kansas soccer as All-Big 12 honorees for their outstanding play this season. The seven selections were the most of any team in the conference.

Seniors Meghan Miller and Amy Geha join junior Caroline Smith and sophomore Holly Gault on the All-Big 12 first team. For Miller and Smith it was their second time on the first team, while Geha and Gault, who was second team All-Big 12 last season as a freshman, garnered their first selection.

“I was definitely very surprised (to be named to first team),” Geha said. “I really did not expect that at all. As a team, we have worked really hard this year and I was really excited to see so many of our players on the All-Conference team.”

On the second team, senior forward Rachel Gilfillan and freshman defender Afton Sauer were both selected for the first time in their careers. Sauer was also named to the All-Big 12 Newcomer team along with sophomore Nicole Cauzillo who joined the Jayhawks after playing her freshman season at West Virginia.

In addition to the seven players who were honored, head coach Mark Francis was selected as the Big 12 Coach of the Year, after leading the Jayhawks to a 16-3-0 overall record and a 8-2 mark in Big 12 play.

“It is nice to get that honor,” Francis said. “I was really happy for the team to have so many players to be named to the All-Big 12 team. It is great that the team and the players are getting that type of recognition, but we still have more to do this season.”


Player of the Year: Brittany Timko, Nebraska
Rookie of the Year: Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M
Coach of the Year: Mark Francis, Kansas


GK — Meghan Miller, Kansas, Sr, Seattle, Wash.
D — Holly Gault, Kansas, So, Spring Hill, Kan.
D — Sasha Andrews, Nebraska, Jr, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
D — Laura Munnelly, Colorado, So, Arvada, Colo.
D — Tanya Dennis, Nebraska, So, Brampton, Ontario, Canada
MF — Fran Munnelly, Colorado, Jr, Arvada, Colo.
MF — Amy Geha, Kansas, Sr, Overland Park, Kan.
MF — Adriane Radtke, Oklahoma State, So, Munich, Germany
F — Brittany Timko, Nebraska, So, Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
F — Caroline Smith, Kansas, Jr, Edina, Minn.
F — Kelly Wilson, Texas, Sr, Odessa, Texas


GK — Jessica Keller, Colorado, Jr, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
D — Amanda Burke, Texas A&M, Sr, Spring, Texas
D — Afton Sauer, Kansas, Fr, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
D — Ashley Gibbs, Missouri, Sr, Pearland, Texas
D — Erica Pusch, Missouri, Jr, St. Louis, Mo.
D — Lauren Colwell, Oklahoma State, Jr, Tulsa, Okla.
MF — Elyse Nikonchuk, Missouri, So, New Lenox, Ill.
MF — Jen Thais, Colorado, Sr, Mission Viejo, Calif.
MF — Carrie Berend, Texas A&M, Jr, Highland Village, Texas
F — Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M, Fr, Normal, Ill.
F — Jennifer Nobis, Missouri, Jr, Quincy, Ill.
F — Rachel Gilfillan, Kansas, Sr, Cottage Grove, Minn.
F — Jolene Schweitzer, Oklahoma State, Sr, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

Newcomer Team

GK — Joanna Haig, Iowa State, Fr, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
D — Sasha Andrews, Nebraska, Jr, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
D — Megan Sherrell, Baylor, Fr, Dallas, Texas
D — Afton Sauer, Kansas, Fr, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
MF — Nicole Cauzillo, Kansas, So, Northville, Mich.
MF — Caitlin Kennedy, Texas, Fr, Euless, Texas
MF — Allie True, Colorado, So, Alamo, Calif.
MF — Amy Berend, Texas A&M, Fr, Highland Village, Texas
F — Anna Schuch, Baylor, So, Austin, Texas
F — Kelsey Carpenter, Texas, Fr, Allen, Texas
F — Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M, Fr, Normal, Ill.