Potee to Receive Honor at Indiana Golf Hall of Fame Ceremony

Nov. 1, 2012

Watch on YouTube

COLUMBUS, Ind. – Kansas junior golfer Meghan Potee (PO-tee) will receive the 2012 Indiana Women’s Golf Association (IWGA) Alice O’Neal Dye Player of the Year honor Friday during the Indiana Golf Hall of Fame ceremonies in Carmel, Ind.

In four events over the summer, Potee, from Noblesville, Ind., amassed 109 cumulative points in the Alice O’Neal Dye Player of the Year standings, which outdistanced runner-up Kristi Cardwell who earned 77 points.

“I just overall had a great summer,” Potee said. “I won two tournaments and came off of surgery, it’s just really neat to have that honor.”

In late July, Potee won the IWGA State Amateur Championship at Otter Creek Golf Club in Columbus, Ind., and qualified for the 2012 U.S. Amateur Women’s Golf Championship earlier in the same week at the Broadmoor Country Club in Indianapolis.

In late May and early June, Potee won the Indiana Women’s Golf Association (IWGA) Match Play competition at Harrison Hills Golf Course in Attica, Ind. She also advanced to the round of 16 at the Women’s Western Golf Association (WWGA) 112th National Amateur Championship in June at Monroe Golf and Country Club in Monroe, Mich.

Potee’s 109 points scored in 2012 are the most scored by an individual since the honor originated in 2001, surpassing the 107 points by Julia Potter in 2009. In 2011, Potee finished sixth in the Alice O’Neal Dye Player of the Year standings and in 2010 she was 15th.

This fall, Potee was a regular on a Kansas team which won two tournament titles and had four top-10 finishes in five events. A 2012 Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection and four-time member of the KU Athletics Director’s and Big 12 Commissioner’s academic honor rolls, Potee was KU’s leading scorer twice this fall.

“This summer gave me so much confidence coming into this season,” Potee said. “I had a rough year last year, but I had an awesome summer and that boosted my confidence a lot and my swing was really good. We had a really good team (this fall), everybody contributed and I was glad to be a part of it because we had a lot of success.”

Located in Franklin, Ind., the Indiana Golf Hall of Fame is where esteemed members of the golf community are chosen for induction based on their extraordinary contributions to the game as players, teachers, administrators or promoters. The Golf Hall of Fame began in 1964 and moved to its current location in June of 2001. Within the exhibit, visitors can also view plaques and memorabilia of members of the Indiana High School Golf Hall of Fame.

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.