Tucker Named Semifinalist for 2005 Ray Guy Award

Nov. 2, 2005

LAWRENCE, Kan. — University of Kansas punter Kyle Tucker has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2005 Ray Guy Award, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate punter, the Greater Augusta Sports Council announced Wednesday. Tucker, one of just two sophomores on the list, averages 43.3 yards per punt (5th in Big 12) and has a season-long punt of 77 yards (vs. Texas Tech).

Tucker has 14 punts longer than 50 yards this season, including four in the contest vs. Texas Tech on Oct. 1. Against Missouri on Oct. 29, the Katy, Texas, native forced a season-high four fair catches. He has landed 14 punts inside the opponent’s 20-yard line.

A record 58 punters were nominated for the honor. Each of the punters on the list was evaluated on overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

The award is named for Thomson, Ga., resident Ray Guy, a 2004 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee. Guy, who played with the Oakland Raiders from 1973 to 1986, was, perhaps, the first punter who could change the make -up of a game with his kicking style. In fact, “hang-time” was added to football vernacular because of Ray Guy, who was known for soaring kicks and deadly precision. His namesake award, created by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, began in 2000. Mr. Guy said about this year’s candidates,

“It is obvious this outstanding group of punters has focused on team success instead of individual accomplishments,” said Guy. “Everyone on our top 10 list has performed unselfishly, qualifying each to be worthy of being named the nation’s top punter.”

A national voting body of Division 1-A coaches and sports information directors, national media, and former punters will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year’s award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show, Thursday, December 8, 2005. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2006.

2005 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists
Name, School, Class

Danny Baugher, Arizona, Senior
Dave Brytus, Purdue, Sophomore
Gordon Ely-Kelso, Georgia, Junior
Chris Hall, Florida State, Senior
Sam Koch, Nebraska, Senior
Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest, Senior
Nic Schmitt, Virginia Tech, Junior
John Torp, Colorado, Senior
Kyle Tucker, Kansas, Sophomore
Eric Wilbur, Florida, Junior