Simien, Langford Named to Preseason Naismith List

Nov. 5, 2004


Kansas seniors Wayne Simien and Keith Langford were among fifty of the country’s top collegiate men’s basketball players named as preseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Friday. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men’s and women’s players of the year.

Langford and Simien join three other Big 12 representatives on the list — Joey Graham and John Lucas of Oklahoma State and Kevin Bookout of Oklahoma.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season.

As part of their involvement, Cingular is making this year’s selection process unique. For the first time, college basketball fans nationwide will have a voice in deciding who wins the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless through wireless text messaging.

In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March. Beginning in mid-February, CBS’ “Cingular at the Half” will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch highlighting the players in contention. The player of the year will be recognized at the NCAA Men’s Final Four in April.

Last year’s Naismith Trophy recipient was Saint Joseph’s University guard Jameer Nelson. Other notable men’s college player of the year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and Christian Laettner.

For more information and a complete listing of the preseason candidates, visit