Kansas Rowing Finishes Strong at Head of the Hooch

Nov. 7, 2005

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. — Kansas rowing completed a successful run at the Head of the Hooch on Sunday. The weekend’s races included the Jayhawks competing in the Championship Eight, Championship Double, Championship Four, Championship Single and Open Eight.

Saturday’s competition featured Kansas in the Championship Double race with three top-10 finishes, one being the second-place finish of senior Jennifer Ebel and junior Jelayna Da Silva with a time of 18:44.9. The other two boats finished fifth with a time of 19:32.8 and 10th with a time of 19:56.9. In the Championship Eight race, Kansas took seventh with a time of 16:44.8 and 15th with a time of 17:18.0. The Jayhawks also finished fourth in the Championship Four race with a time of 19:25.2.

Sunday’s races included the Championship Single as senior Jennifer Ebel took the top spot for Kansas in fifth place with a time of 22:49.3. In the Open Eight, the Jayhawks placed second and fourth with times of18:30.0 and 18:39.6.

“We did a lot of tough racing this weekend. We went from the Championship Single race right into the Open Eight and that is very physically challenging,” head coach Rob Catloth said. “I think we had a good showing at the Head of the Hooch and I am very proud of the girls as they faired well against tough competition like Tennessee and Miami.”

Next week Kansas rowing will take on Kansas State in Manhattan at the Sunflower Showdown on Nov. 12. This will mark the end of a successful Fall rowing season for the Jayhawks.

Championship Eight
Winning Time: 16:06.1
7) Kansas Boat A 16:44.8
15) Kansas Boat B 17:18.0

Championship Double
Winning Time: 18:33.0
2) Kansas Boat A 18:44.9
5) Kansas Boat F 19:32.8
10) Kansas Boat D 19:56.9
11) Kansas Boat B 20:00.2
15) Kansas Boat C 20:28.0
16) Kansas Boat E 20:45.8

Championship Four
Winning Time: 19:02.7
4) Kansas Boat 19:25.2

Championship Single
Winning Time: 21:38.5<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

5) Jennifer Ebel 22:49.7

11) Jelayna Da Silva 23:27.9

12) Kara Boston 23:37.0

15) Alexis Boston 24:01.6

17) Tricia Sawtelle 24:12.4

18) Lindsey Miles 24:12.8

19) LlynnAnn Laugesen 24:24.0

20) Kris Lazar 24:41.7

21) Katie Ault 24:44.5

22) Paige Phillips 24:50.4

24) Gillian Van Ruyven 25:17.7

25) Tiffany Jeffers 25:24.8

Open Eight
Winning Time: 18:23.1
2) Kansas Boat A 18:30.0
4) Kansas Boat B 18:39.6