Gordon Named Semifinalist for 2005 Jim Thorpe Award

Nov. 8, 2005

LAWRENCE, Kan. — University of Kansas cornerback/wide receiver Charles Gordon has been named one of 12 semifinalists for the 2005 Jim Thorpe Award, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate defensive back, the Jim Thorpe Award screening committee announced Tuesday. Gordon, who tied for the national lead with seven interceptions in 2004, is one of just four players on the list who is not in his senior year of eligibility.

This year, Gordon has 23 total tackles, including two tackles for loss and one quarterback sack. He is second on the team with two interceptions, despite playing the majority of the last four games mainly as a wide receiver.

This list will be narrowed on November 21, 2005, to three finalists, and the winner will be announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show, telecast live from Disney World in Orlando, Fla., on December 8, 2005.

The Jim Thorpe Association first presented the award in 1986 to Thomas Everett of Baylor. The 1989 winner, Marc Carrier of USC, will present the Thorpe trophy on this year’s ESPN show. The official presentation of the award will occur at a banquet in Oklahoma City, Okla., on February 7, 2006. Winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Last year’s winner was Auburn University standout Carlos Rogers, who is now playing for the Washington Redskins.

The 2005 Jim Thorpe Semi-Finalists
Name, Class, School

Darnell Bing, Jr., USC
Greg Blue, Sr., Georgia
Darrel Brooks, Sr., Arizona
Dion Byrum, Sr., Ohio
Charles Gordon, Jr., Kansas
Roman Harper, Sr., Alabama
Michael Huff, Sr., Texas
Tye Hill, Sr., Clemson
LaRon Landry, Jr., LSU
Brandon Merriweather, Jr., Miami (FL)
Jimmy Williams, Sr., Virginia Tech
Alan Zemaitis, Sr., Penn State