Jayhawks And Wildcats To Compete On the Water

Nov. 8, 2007

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing will conclude its 2007 fall campaign on Saturday, Nov. 10 in Manhattan, Kan., as they face Kansas State in the annual Sunflower Showdown. The two schools will compete in six events, culminating with the eight-point First Varsity Eight race at 10:45 a.m.

The competition will be held on K-State’s home course at the Tuttle Creek Reservoir. The event is scheduled to begin at 9:30 a.m. with the Varsity Four race. Following the Varsity Four race, will be the three novice eight races. The First and Second Varsity eight boats will conclude the competition around 11 a.m.

Kansas won last year’s Sunflower Showdown, 14-11. Kansas defeated K-State in the First and Second Varsity Eight races. KU also defeated KSU in its last meeting at the Kansas Cup in the spring, 13-10.

The schedule of events and boatings are listed below. For complete results following the regatta, please check back with www.kuathletics.com.

Sunflower Showdown
Nov. 10 – Manhattan, Kan.

Varsity Four – 9:30 a.m. (3 points)
Kansas A

Lexie Peterson (c)
Kahheetah Barnoskie
Kristin Deckert
Erika Fisher
Abby Green

Kansas B
Sarah Best (c)
Kaitlin Squier
Brittany Belford
Kelly Miller
Julie Schoeneck

Third Novice Eight – 9:45 a.m. (1 point)
Kansas A
Alyssa Auld (c)
Melissa Hersh
Jessica Sadler
Olivia Newberry
Rachel Werner
Kristen Allison
Tiffany Armstrong
Rachelle Pauly
Allison Able

Kansas B
Katelyn McKee (c)
Kelsey Simpson
Jessica Stewart
Paige Schultz
Nicole Schneider
Michelle Bond
Caitlin Roach
Monica Reynolds
Roxy Toledo

Second Novice Eight – 10 a.m. (3 points)
Erika Raschke (c)
Lauren Pollmiller
Cissy Orzulak
Kate Wiens
Jennifer Olberding
Kelli Shaw
Amanda Holloway
Brittany Francis
Megan Foster

First Novice Eight – 10:15 a.m. (5 points)
Elise Langtry (c)
Melanie Luthi
Cassie Sparks
Meaghan Oven
Denise Orloff
Jenny Robb
Inga Schuchard
Julia Matthias
Julia Guard

Second Varsity Eight – 10:30 a.m. (5 points)
Catlin Curtis (c)
Elisheva Patterson
Brianna Flickinger
Stacy Rachow
Valerie Jackson
Emily Martin
Hailee Jones
Brooke Castrop
Becca Labat

First Varsity Eight – 10:45 a.m. (8 points)
Katie Brosious (c)
Lindsey Lawrence
Katie Beall
Amber Bortz
Alia Bober
Kara Boston
Carrie Selden
Abbi Huderle
Megan Heacock