Three Jayhawks Named to Big 12 Championship All-Tournament Team

Nov. 9, 2008


Kansas juniors Monica Dolinsky, Shannon McCabe and Estelle Johnson have been named to the Big 12 Soccer Championship’s All-Tournament team. The three Jayhawks on the squad, which is voted on by members of the media, sets a team record.

Dolinsky, a junior midfielder from Carmel, Ind., recorded five points in KU’s two Big 12 Championship matches. The 5-foot-5 midfielder tied a team record with three assists in KU’s opening round victory over No. 8 Texas A&M and scored the Jayhawks’ lone goal in the semifinal tie with No. 18 Missouri. Dolinsky leads the team with 27 offensive points this season.

Johnson, a junior defender from Fort Collins, Colo., played stellar defense in the Kansas backfield throughout the season and in the tournament. Johnson was on the field for 1,930 of KU’s 1,958 minutes this season and helped the Jayhawks hold opponents to a 1.44 goals against average. She has started every match since the 10th match of her freshman year.

McCabe, a junior forward from Tulsa, Okla., scored two goals in KU’s 4-2 triumph over No. 8 Texas A&M in the Big 12 Championship quarterfinals. The 5-foot-6 forward has scored six goals over KU’s last seven contests. She is currently second on the team with eight goals and 21 points.

Kansas – the No. 7 seed in the tournament – advanced to the semifinal round of the Big 12 Championship by defeating the No. 2 seed, Texas A&M, 4-2 Wednesday. The Jayhawks tied eventual tournament champion Missouri, 1-1, in the semifinals, but the Tigers advanced on penalty kicks.

The Jayhawks (12-7-2) will learn their NCAA Tournament fate on Monday evening with the selection show at 7 p.m., carried on ESPNEWS. KU has not qualified for the NCAA Tournament since 2004.

Goalkeeper — Kirstin Radlinski, Colorado
Kat Tarr, Missouri
Estelle Johnson, Kansas
Michelle Wenino, Colorado
Monica Dolinsky, Kansas
Yolanda Odenyo, Oklahoma State
Meghan Pfeiffer. Missouri
Mo Redmond, Missouri
Shannon McCabe, Kansas
Kasey Langdon, Oklahoma State
Alysha Bonnick, Missouri
Defensive Most Valuable Player — Tasha Dittamore
Offensive Most Valuable Player — Alysha Bonnick