Meier Named As Biletnikoff Award Finalist

Nov. 14, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas wide receiver Kerry Meier has been named as one of 10 finalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top wide receiver.

Meier, a converted quarterback has excelled at the wideout position this season. The junior from Pittsburg, Kan. is tied for 14th in the nation in receptions per game at 6.90 and ranks 36th in the country with 79.40 yards per game heading into Saturday’s game against No. 4 Texas.

Meier has 69 catches on the year, just one shy of the school record of 70 set by Richard Estell in 1985. Last year he caught 26 passes after moving to the position for league play. Meier had started at quarterback as a freshman in 2006 before serving as the backup signal-caller in each of the last two seasons.

As a quarterback, Meier set a school record for touchdown passes by a freshman with 13 in 2006. He also owns a school receiving record with three consecutive 100-yard receiving games earlier this season. At South Florida this year he tied a school mark with 11 catches, but that record was later broken by Dezmon Briscoe, who had 12 catches at Oklahoma.

The versatile player holds on extra points and field goal attempts and last year punted four times for a 32.2 average.

Meier is one of six Big 12 receivers on the list.

2008 Biletnikoff Award Finalists

Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

Eric Decker, Minnesota

Austin Collie, BYU

Jarett Dillard, Rice

Jeremy Maclin, Missouri

Kerry Meier, Kansas

Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State

Chase Coffman, Missouri

Casey Fitzgerald, North Texas

Quan Cosby, Texas