Seven Jayhawks Named to Academic All-Big 12 Volleyball Team

Nov. 16, 2010


Academic All-Big 12 Teams Get Acrobat Reader

A league-leading seven Kansas volleyball players were named to the Academic All-Big 12 Volleyball Team, it was announced by the league office Tuesday.

Seniors Karina Garlington and Melissa Manda, junior Allison Mayfield, sophomore Tayler Tolefree and redshirt freshman Caroline Jarmoc were all named to the first team, while junior Nicole Tate and sophomore Morgan Boub earned second team honors as Kansas matched Oklahoma for the most student-athletes named to the 51-person list.

Garlington and Manda earned first team distinction for the third-straight year while Mayfield and Tate received the award for a second time in their careers. Boub, Jarmoc and Tolefree each earned the award in their first season of eligibility for the academic team.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services, the volleyball academic all-league squad consisted of 38 first team members combined with 13 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.