Kansas Junior Marcus Morris Named to Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Nov. 16, 2010

ATLANTA – Kansas junior Marcus Morris was named to the 2010-11 Naismith Trophy preseason watch list the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday.

In Kansas’ two victories this season, Morris leads Kansas with a 20-point scoring average. The 6-9 Philadelphia, Pa., forward is 17-for-22 from the floor for a 77.3 shooting percentage, including 3-for-5 (60 percent) from three-point range. Morris has been listed on numerous preseason All-America teams entering the 2010-11 season. Morris is a two-year starter for the Jayhawks and earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors last season when he led the conference in field goal percentage for league games at 56.1 percent. Last season, Morris had five games of 20-plus points, 14 contests with eight or more rebounds and averaged 12.8 points and 6.8 rebounds.

Kansas’ Danny Manning, a current assistant on the Jayhawk staff, won the 1988 Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Trophy.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2011 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Houston.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award.

In February, during CBS’ coverage of college basketball, the “AT&T at the Half” segment will feature a Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention for the award.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to four finalists.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year. For more information, visit www.naismithawards.com.

2010-11 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Lavoy Allen, Temple

Kevin Anderson, Richmond

Harrison Barnes, North Carolina

Will Barton, Memphis

Talor Battle, Penn State

Keith Benson, Oakland

William Buford, Ohio State

Alec Burks, Colorado

Randy Culpepper, UTEP

Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech

Kim English, Missouri

Kenneth Faried, Morehead State

Corey Fisher, Villanova

Jimmer Fredette, BYU

Austin Freeman, Georgetown

Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh

Elias Harris, Gonzaga

Jeremy Hazell, Seton Hall

Kyrie Irving, Duke

Charles Jenkins, Hofstra

JaJuan Johnson, Purdue

Kevin Jones, West Virginia

Perry Jones, Baylor

Kris Joseph, Syracuse

Brandon Knight, Kentucky

Kawhi Leonard, San Diego State

Jon Leuer, Wisconsin

Kalin Lucas, Michigan State

Shelvin Mack, Butler

Demetri McCarney, Illinois

E’Twaun Moore, Purdue

Marcus Morris, KANSAS

Chandler Parsons, Florida

Jacob Pullen, Kansas State

Kyle Singler, Duke

Chris Singleton, Florida State

John Shurna, Northwestern

Nolan Smith, Duke

Jared Sullinger, Ohio State

Durrell Summers, Michigan State

Jeff Taylor, Vanderbilt

Isaiah Thomas, Washington

Trey Thompkins, Georgia

Klay Thompson, Washington State

Kemba Walker, Connecticut

Chris Warren, Mississippi

Derrick Williams, Arizona

Jordan Williams, Maryland

Chris Wright, Dayton

Tyler Zeller, North Carolina