Jayhawk Football Places 14 On Academic All-Big 12 Teams

Nov. 20, 2007


This season the Kansas football team has had great success on the field of play and on Tuesday was recognized for its success in the classroom as 14 players were tabbed to the Academic All-Big 12 Teams, which were announced by the conference office.

Of KU’s 14 selections, 11 Jayhawks were named to the first team, including junior Russell Brorsen and senior Brian Seymour, who were nominated with perfect 4.0 grade point averages.

Senior kicker Scott Webb, senior wide receiver Jeff Foster and junior defensive ends Brorsen and John Larson were all elected to their second-straight academic all-conference team.

They were joined on the first team by sophomore wide receiver Micah Brown, senior defensive back Sadiq Muhammed, sophomore quarterback

Todd Reesing, junior linebacker Mike Rivera, Seymour, sophomore running back Jake Sharp and sophomore defensive end Jeff Wheeler.

Junior offensive lineman Adrian Mayes, sophomore quarterback Kerry Meier and freshman defensive back Phillip Strozier were selected to the second team.

To qualify for the first team, student-athletes had to maintain a 3.20 grade point average while participating in 60 percent of his team’s contests.

The second-ranked Jayhawks (11-0, 7-0 Big 12) will play its regular season finale against No. 3 Missouri Saturday at 7 p.m. at Kansas City’s Arrowhead Stadium. The game can be seen throughout the country on ABC.