Kansas Legend Nieder Headlines Hall of Fame Entries

Nov. 27, 2006


Legendary Kansas track and field shot putter Bill Nieder headlines the latest class of inductees into the National Track and Field Hall of Fame. Nieder set the world record in the event on three different occasions and won the NCAA men’s shot put title in 1955.

While at Kansas, Nieder also captured five conference shot put crowns: two indoor (1955-56) and three outdoor (1954-56). Nieder also finished second in the shot put at the NCAA championships in 1956. Following his time at Kansas, Nieder went on to capture Olympic success, earning the silver medal at the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne, Australia, and becoming Olympic champion at the 1960 Olympics in Rome with an Olympic record throw of 19.05 meters/62 feet, 6 1/4 inches.

Nieder becomes the second Jayhawk in as many years to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, following KU distance great Wes Santee. Nieder’s’s induction brings the number of former Jayhawks in the Hall of Fame to nine. He became one of the first amateur to break the 60-foot barrier in the event with a 12-pound shot and became the first collegiate athlete to break the 60-foot barrier with a 16-pound shot.

Joining Nieder in the 2006 class is a myriad of former track and field greats: Dan O’Brien, Lynn Jennings, Kevin Young, Rex Cawley, Matt McGrath and Ollan Cassel. The Class of 2006 will be inducted Saturday evening, December 2, at the Jesse Owens Awards and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held in conjunction with USATF’s 2006 Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

For more information about the 2006 class or the National Track and Field Hall of Fame, click here.

– KU –