Kodiak Quick Named to 2006 Wallace Watch

Nov. 28, 2005


KU senior pitcher Kodiak Quick was named to the 2006 Wallace Watch released by the College Baseball Foundation. The Brooks Wallace Award is presented annually to the national college baseball player of the year.

A native of Belton, Mo., Quick set a new Kansas school record with 10 wins last season and led KU’s staff with a 3.41 ERA. He struck out 91 batters in 121.1 innings of work and was named All-Big 12 Second Team.

The Wallace Watch will be trimmed to 12 semi-finalists by late May. Then the selection committee will narrow the list to three finalists following the NCAA Super Regionals at a press conference in Omaha. The finalists, their head coaches, and their parents will be invited to Lubbock, TX, for a schedule of special events tied to the award banquet, which will again be nationally televised by Fox Sports Network.

Dedicated to the memory of former Texas Tech shortstop and assistant coach, Brooks Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A 4-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District Six his senior year when he led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament. After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984 he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27. The Plano, Texas native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan.

The selection committee for the Wallace Award is comprised of a national panel of preeminent coaches, sports information directors, former winners and beat media who most closely follow the sport. Screening Committee members will evaluate the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire baseball season. The list will expand and contract during the regular season and additional Wallace Watch candidates may be added as the season progresses.

Complete Wallace Watch List

Kodiak Quick, P, Kansas
Ian Kennedy, P, USC
Shane Robinson, OF, Florida State
Shelby Ford, SS, Oklahoma State
Matt McHargue, 1B, USF
Max Scherzer, P, Missouri
Marc Maddox, 1B, Southern Miss
Joe Savery, P-ATH, Rice
Dallas Buck, P, Oregon State
Ty Dunham, P, Central Michigan
Adrian Alaniz, P, Texas
Matt LaPorta, 1B, Florida
J. P. Aercibia, C, Tennessee
Wade LeBlanc, P, Alabama
Michael Ambort, C, Lamar
Tim Lincecum, P, Washington
Matt Rizzotti, 1B, Manhattan
Jason Meyer, P, Texas A&M
Chris Minaker, SS, Stanford
Jim Negrych, 2B, Pittsburgh
Hector Ambriz, P-ATH, UCLA
Adam Carr, 1B, Oklahoma State
Wes Roemer, P, Cal State Fullerton
Brooks Brown, P, Georgia
Colin Curtis, OF, Arizona State
Drew Stubbs, OF, Texas
Andrew Miller, P, North Carolina
Evan Longoria, 3B, Long Beach State
Scott Sizemore, 2B, VCU
Beau Mills, 3B, Fresno State
Mike Folli, SS, Buffalo
Matt Melancon, P , Arizona
Joseph Callendar, 2B, Texas Tech
Joe Spiers, SS, Hawai’i
Joba Chamberlain, P, Nebraska
Matt Farrington, P, Houston
Nick Schmidt, P, Arkansas
Chris Campbell, 2B, CofC
Clay Dirks, P, LSU
Brad Emaus, 3B, Tulane
Greg Dowling, 1B, Georgia South.
Jay Heafner, 3B, Davidson
Jeff Kunkel, C, Michigan
Chris Perez, P, Miami
Keith Gunderson, P, Oregon State
Tyler Chambliss, P, Florida State
Steven Wright, P, Hawai’i
Pat McMahon, C, Northwestern
Jim Viscomi, OF, Evansville
Brennan Boesch, OF, California
Nolan Reimold, OF, Bowling Green
Jake Ball, SS, Jacksonville State
Michael McKenry, C, Middle Tenne. St.
Matt Wieters, C-ATH, Georgia Tech
Chad Huffman, OF, TCU
Jeremy Jones, OF, N. Carolina A&T
Matt Lewis, OF, Penn State
Heath Rollins, P-ATH, Winthrop
Sean Doolittle, P-ATH, Virginia
Matt Antonelli, 3B, Wake Forest
Corey Riordan, P, Fordham
Derrick Lutz, P, George Washington
Bernard Robert, P, Alabama
John Jay, OF, Miami
Jordan Pacheco, 2B, New Mexico
Paul Coleman, P, Pepperdine
Luke Hopkins, 1B, New Mexico State
Luke Trubee, P, Dayton
Chris Johnson, 2B, Stetson
Chris Coghlan, 3B, Ole Miss
Jared McGuire, 3B, Boston College
Wes Hodges, 3B, Georgia Tech
Steven Guerra, P, Oklahoma
Anton Daley, DH-ATH, Prairie View
Troy Krider, DH-ATH, Michigan State
Rowdy Hardy, P, Austin Peay
Taylor Fowler, P, Arkansas State
Brian Blomquist, P, Illinois
Tim Bascom, P, Central Florida
P. J. Walters, P, South Alabama
Scott Cousins, P-ATH, San Francisco
Johnny Dorn, P, Nebraska
Keith Weiser, P, Miami (OH)
Corey VanAllen, P, Baylor
Elih Villanueva, P, Florida International
Mitch Hilligoss, SS, Purdue
Brandon Hynick, P, Birmingham-Southern
James Bennett, OF, UL Monroe
Charlie Yarbrough, OF, Longwood
Blake Davis, SS, Cal State Fullerton
Kyle Jones, Texas State, DH-ATH
David Price, P, Vanderbilt
Brett Pill, 1B, Cal State Fullerton
Jay Miller, OF, Washington State
Taylor Harbin, 2B, Clemson
Shane Buschini, OF, San Diego
Kraig Binick, OF New York Tech
Joseph Hunter, OF, Mississippi State
Gib Hobson, P, NC State
Brett Sinkbeil, P, Missouri State
Jon Willard, OF, South Carolina
Michael Taylor, OF, Stanford
Derek Schermerhorn, 3B, Wichita State
Josh Landry, OF, Louisiana
Daniel Delcalso, 2B, UC Davis
John Gaub, P, Minnesota
John Shelby, DH-ATH, Kentucky
Brennan Garr, P-ATH, N. Colorado
Jared Hughes, P. Long Beach State
Chad Tracy, C, Pepperdine
Quinton Berry, OF, San Diego State
Ryan Bird, OF, UNLV
Hunter Mense, OF, Missouri
Brandon Dewing, P, San Jose State
Chris Pettit, OF, Loyola Marymount
Scott Reese, P, Creighton
Matt Poulk, 3B, UNC-Wilmington
Cory Luebke, P, Ohio State
Nick Hill, P, Army
Ben Saylor, 1B, BYU
Justin Baum, 3B-C, Pacific
Aaron Bates, 1B-C, North Carolina State