Eight Jayhawks Named All-Big 12

Nov. 28, 2006

Lawrence, Kan. — Senior running back Jon Cornish and sophomore defensive back Aqib Talib were named All-Big 12 First Team, conference officials announced Tuesday. Senior offensive lineman David Ochoa and junior fullback Brandon McAnderson earned second team honors, while defensive back Jerome Kemp, defensive lineman James McClinton, linebacker Mike Rivera and offensive lineman Bob Whitaker each earned honorable mention status.

Cornish became KU’s single-season rushing record holder after collecting 1,457 yards on the ground during the year, breaking the mark in KU’s last contest of the season against Missouri. The previous record was held by Tony Sands who set the standard in 1991 with 1,442 rushing yards. In addition, Cornish’s 5.8 yards per carry is the highest single-season mark in school history by a back with more than 200 carries. Cornish, a native of New Westminster, B.C., ended the year as the Big 12’s leader in all-purpose yards with an average of 137.6 yards per contest.

Talib finished the regular-season as the nation’s leader in passes defended as he batted down 2.80 passes per contest. The Richardson, Texas, native also ended the regular-season as the Big 12 leader with six interceptions.

Ochoa started all 12 games at center on the offensive line, helping the Jayhawks rush for an average of 176.6 yards per game — the highest average since the 1995 season.

McAnderson, a native of Lawrence, Kan., paved the way for many of Cornish’s long runs with his effective blocking from the fullback position. He scored five touchdowns during the regular-season, including two at Iowa State on Nov. 4.

The All-Big 12 Conference football teams are selected by the league’s 12 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

First Team Offense
Jon Cornish (Sr./running back)

First Team Defense
Aqib Talib (So./defensive back)

Second Team Offense
Brandon McAnderson (Jr./fullback)
David Ochoa (Sr./offensive line)

Honorable Mention Offense
Bob Whitaker (Sr./offensive line)

Honorable Mention Defense
Jerome Kemp (Sr./defensive back)
James McClinton (Jr./defensive line)
Mike Rivera (So./linebacker)

— KU —