Linebacker Nick Reid Named Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year

Nov. 29, 2005

Lawrence, Kan. — Senior linebacker Nick Reid was named 2005 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, and highlighted the 14 members of the University of Kansas football team who were named All-Big 12 on Tuesday in a release issued by the conference office. Reid’s selection marks the first time in KU history that a Jayhawk player has received the honor. Senior defensive lineman Charlton Keith and junior kick/punt returner Charles Gordon also joined Reid on the All-Big 12 First-Team.

“Nick is very deserving of this recognition,” said KU Head Coach Mark Mangino. “He is a dedicated player that made a difference in our program. Nick will be remembered as one of the finest defensive players ever to play at Kansas.”

Senior Jermial Ashley (defensive lineman) and Gordon (defensive back) were named All-Big 12 Second-Team. Players earning honorable mention status include DL Rodney Allen, LB Banks Floodman, DB Rodney Fowler, WR Charles Gordon, RB Clark Green, LB Kevin Kane, OL David Ochoa, DL/LB Brandon Perkins, WR Mark Simmons, DB Aqib Talib, P Kyle Tucker and OL Bob Whitaker.

Reid, a native of Derby, Kan., led all Big 12 defenders with an average of 9.6 tackles per game and was sixth in the league with an average of 1.18 tackles-for-loss per contest. He is the first Kansas linebacker since 1997 to earn All-Big 12 First-Team honors (Ron Warner). His honor marks the third major award for a KU athlete. Previous Jayhawks who earned individual accolades include Joe Vaughn (2003) and Bill Whittemore (2002) who were both named Offensive Newcomer of the Year.

Gordon, a native of Carson, Calif., led the team and finished fourth in the Big 12 with an average of 10.3 yards per punt return. He was also named All-Big 12 Second-Team as a defensive back and All-Big 12 Third-Team as a wide receiver. On defense, Gordon finished the regular-season with 28 total tackles and a pair of interceptions. Offensively, he finished third on the team with 28 receptions and was second on the club with two touchdown catches.

Keith, a native of Akron, Ohio, led the Big 12 with an average of 1.68 tackles-for-loss per game. He set the school-record in tackles-for-loss in KU’s game against Iowa State when he recorded his 21st TFL of the season. He ended the regular-season with 53 total tackles, including nine quarterback sacks. He also led the team with seven quarterback hurries.

Ashley, a native of Fort Worth, Texas, collected 14 total tackles and teamed with Keith to form one of the top pass rushing duos in the Big 12. He had four tackles-for-loss including one quarterback sack.

The All-Big 12 Conference football teams and individual award winners are selected by the league’s 12 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year
Nick Reid (Sr./linebacker)

First-Team Offense
Charles Gordon (Jr./kick/punt returner)

First-Team Defense
Charlton Keith (Sr./defensive line)
Nick Reid (Sr./linebacker)

Second-Team Defense
Jermial Ashley (Sr./defensive line)
Charles Gordon (Jr./defensive back)

Honorable Mention Offense
Charles Gordon (Jr./wide receiver)
Clark Green (Sr./running back)
David Ochoa (Jr./offensive line)
Mark Simmons (Sr./wide receiver)
Bob Whitaker (Jr./offensive line)

Honorable Mention Defense
Rodney Allen (Jr./defensive line)
Banks Floodman (Sr./linebacker)
Rodney Fowler (Sr./defensive back)
Kevin Kane (Sr./linebacker)
Brandon Perkins (Sr./defensive line/linebacker)
Aqib Talib (Fr./defensive back)
Kyle Tucker (So./punter)

— KU —