Aqib Talib Named To AFCA All-America Team

Nov. 29, 2007

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas cornerback Aqib Talib was named to the American Football Coaches Association All-America Team it was announced on Thursday. Talib is KU’s first first-team All-America selection since Bruce Kallmeyer in 1983.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. The teams are annually chosen by the nation’s coaches.

Previous Jayhawks selected to the AFCA All-America team include Gale Sayers (1963 and 1964), John Zook (1968), Bobby Douglass (1968), David Jaynes (1973) and Bruce Kallmeyer (1983)

Talib, a junior from Richardson, Texas, has recorded 61 tackles, four interceptions and 13 passes defended this season to help the KU defense rank fourth in the nation in scoring defense and 14th in total defense.

Talib ranks 11th in the country in passes defended and returned an interception 100 yards for a touchdown against Florida International. He has also had success on the offensive side of the ball, catching eight passes for 182 yards and four touchdowns on the year.

Talib will be in Charlotte, N.C. on Monday as a Bronko Nagurski award finalist. That award, presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, is given annually to the nation’s top defensive player. Other candidates for that award include Glenn Dorsey of LSU, James Laurinaitis of OhioState, Chris Long of Virginia and George Selvie of South Florida.

The fifth-ranked Jayhawks, which have posted an 11-1 record this season, will find out on Sunday which bowl game they will play in during this year’s postseason.

2007 AFCA Coaches’ All-America Team

WR Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech
WR Jordy Nelson Kansas State
TE Martin Rucker Missouri
OL Jake Long* Michigan
OL Kirk Barton Ohio State
C Steve Justice Wake Forest
OL Duke Robinson Oklahoma
OL Ryan Clady Boise State
QB Matt Ryan Boston College
RB Darren McFadden* Arkansas
RB Jonathan Stewart Oregon

DL Glenn Dorsey*, LSU
DL Chris Long, Virginia
DL George Selvie, South Florida
DL Sedrick Ellis, USC
LB James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
LB Xavier Adibi, Virginia Tech
LB J Lemen, Illinois
DB Dwight Lowery*, San Jose State
DB Aqib Talib, Kansas
DB Brandon Flowers, Virginia Tech
DB Mike Jenkins, South Florida

P Chris Miller, Ball State
PKTaylor Mehlhaff, Wisconsin
AP DeSean Jackson, California

*-2006 All-American