Davis on Naismith Early-Season Watch List

Nov. 30, 2011

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Carolyn Davis has already been named one of the top women’s basketball players in the country by several organizations and now the Kansas junior can add one more accolade to her repertoire as the Atlanta Tipoff Club named Davis to the 2011-12 Naismith Women’s Early-Season Watch List Wednesday. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s player of the year.

Davis is one of 51 student-athletes on the list, which encompasses 35 schools around the country from 13 different athletic conferences. The watch list, compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012 college basketball season. In late February, a list of 30 mid]season candidates will be chosen. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists and the 2012 Naismith Trophy will be awarded at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Denver.

Earlier this year, Davis was named to the Wooden Award and Wade Trophy preseason watch lists. She was also a Preseason All-Big 12 First Team selection and was chosen by ESPN.com as one of the top five centers in the nation.

Last season, Davis ranked second in the nation with a 66.0 field goal percentage and was one of four Big 12 Conference players to rank in the top 10 for both scoring and rebounding turning in a team-high 19.0 points and 7.4 rebounds per game. Through the first six games of the 2011-12 season, the Houston, Texas native is fifth in the nation with a 68.1 shooting percentage and paces the Jayhawks with 16.0 points per game. She recently became the 23rd Jayhawk in program history to amass 1,000 career points.

“With 15 players returning from last season’s watch list, including two of last year’s finalists, this year’s Naismith Women’s Player of the Year trophy is all about experience,” said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director. “We’re excited for all of the action to unfold and to see who is left standing at the end of the season.”

For more information, visit www.naismithawards.com.