KU's Reesing Heading To New York For Football Dinner

Dec. 2, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – As a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing will be an honoree at the annual National Football Foundation Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City Tuesday, Dec. 8.

Reesing is one of 16 finalists for the honor, which was previously known as the Draddy Trophy. Candidates must have a grade-point average of at least 3.2, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

As a finalist, Reesing will receive an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner will receive a $25,000 post-graduate scholarship and a 25-pound bronze trophy. The winner will be announced on Tuesday.

ESPN’s Chris Fowler will emcee the event which includes the induction of the 2009 College Football Hall of Fame class.

The class includes Pervis Atkins (New Mexico State), Tim Brown (Notre Dame), Chuck Cecil (Arizona), Ed Dyas (Auburn), Major Harris (West Virginia), Gordon Hudson (Brigham Young), William Lewis (Harvard), Woodrow Lowe (Alabama), Ken Margerum (Stanford), Steve McMichael (Texas), Chris Spielman (Ohio State), Larry Station (Iowa), Pat Swilling (Georgia Tech), Gino Torretta (Miami, Fla.), Curt Warner (Penn State), Grant Wistrom (Nebraska); and coaches Dick MacPherson and John Robinson.

Members of the 2009 class of NFF National Scholar-Athletes include Jon Asamoah (Illinois); Matt Bauman (Brigham Young); Eric Decker (Minnesota); Moses Harris (Fresno State); Tim Hiller (Western Michigan); Paul Jasinowski (Brown); Beau Kildow (Morningside, Iowa); Josh Mahoney (Northern Iowa); Colt McCoy (Texas); Jarrell NeSmith (Tusculum, Tenn.); Joe Pawelek (Baylor); Todd Reesing (Kansas); ZaVious Robbins (Hardin-Simmons, Texas); Tim Tebow (Florida); Blaine Westemeyer (Augustana, Ill.); and Reed Williams (West Virginia).

In addition, other awards will be presented, including: Gold Medal Recipient – Phil Knight; Distinguished American Award – Billy Payne; Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award – Dan Jenkins; John L. Toner Award – Jim Weaver, Virginia Tech; Outstanding Football Official Award – Tim Millis, the Big 12 Conference; and Chris Schenkel Award – Larry Zimmer, University of Colorado.