Mark Mangino Named Finalist for Coach of the Year Award

Dec. 4, 2007


Kansas Head Football Coach Mark Mangino has been named a finalist for the 2007 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, which honors the college football coaches who best exemplify responsibility and excellence on and off the field of play. Fans can cast a vote for Coach Mangino to win for Division 1-Aby December 15 at The winner will be announced on December 29 during an ABC/ESPN special. <?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

“More than a half-million fan votes were cast for 597 college football coaches this season, a tremendous and passionate outpouring of support from college football fans across the nation,” said Greg Gordon, Liberty Mutual vice president, Consumer Marketing. “Each finalist embodies what makes this award different than any other: responsibility – not only to his own team and players, but also to his school and his community.”

Mangino, the Big 12 Coach of the Year, led the Jayhawks to a program-best 11 victories and a bid to the FedEx Orange Bowl this year. KU opened the season with 11 straight wins, defeating such traditional powers as <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Kansas State, Colorado, OklahomaState and Texas A&M on the road. Mangino’s Jayhawks also posted home wins over MAC champion Central Michigan, Southeastern Louisiana, Toledo, Florida International, Baylor, Nebraska and IowaState at home. In KU’s victory over Nebraska on Nov. 3, Mangino’s crew dropped a record 76 points on their long-time nemesis.

The Jayhawks received very little fanfare before the season, but earned a spot in the top 25 after winning at then-No. 24 K-State on Oct. 6. After the team’s 11th straight victory to open the year, Kansas climbed as high as No. 2 in the Bowl Championship Series rankings, as well as No. 2 in the AP and USA Today polls. KU ended the regular season ranked in the No. 8 spot in all three polls.

Joining Coach Mangino as a finalist for Division 1-Aare:

Rich Brooks, University of Kentucky

Sylvester Croom, Mississippi State University

Paul Johnson, U.S. Naval Academy

Mark Mangino, University of Kansas

Joe Paterno, PennStateUniversity

Mark Richt, University of Georgia

Rich Rodriguez, West VirginiaUniversity

Jim Tressel, OhioStateUniversity

Tommy Tuberville, AuburnUniversity

Ron Zook, University of Illinois

Each winner receives $50,000 from Liberty Mutual to support his civic and charitable activities, $20,000 in scholarship to his school’s alumni association, and is recognized in the permanent Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year display at the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.

During the initial fan-voting phase at (September 6 – November 27), the top 25 vote getters in each division qualified to be evaluated by an objective model designed exclusively for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award and reviewed and endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame. The model arrived at the finalists by scoring each of these qualifying coaches in four areas: coaching excellence, sportsmanship and integrity, academic excellence, and community commitment.

Fan votes in this second phase account for 20 percent of each coach’s final score, with a voting committee of college football media (25 percent) and College Football Hall of Fame coaches and players (55 percent) contributing the remainder.

The winners will be announced December 29, 2007, on an ABC special presentation hosted by Hall of Fame Sportscaster Keith Jackson and Analyst Kirk Herbstreit at 5:30 p.m. (ET). The special award presentation will re-air January 8, 2008, on ESPN2 at 2:00 p.m. (ET).