KU Football Will Be Part Of College Football Awards Show

Dec. 5, 2007


Kansas head football coach Mark Mangino and Jayhawk offensive lineman Anthony Collins are candidates for national awards, which will be announced at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show here on Thursday night. <?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

The awards show will be broadcast on ESPN from 6:30-8:30 p.m. Central time

Mangino is a finalist for the national coach of the year honor, while Collins is one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy, given annually to the nation’s top interior lineman. In addition, the Football Writer’s Association of America will announce its All-America team during the event.

Other awards, which will be announced include the Biletnikoff (wide receiver), Lou Groza (kicker), Ray Guy (punter), Maxell (outstanding player), Davey O’Brien (quarterback), Jim Thorpe (defensive back), Doak Walker (running back), among others.