Several Jayhawk Football Players Named To Additional All-Big 12 Teams

Dec. 5, 2008

Several Kansas football players have been named to postseason All-Big 12 teams by the Associated Press and Phil Steele Magazine this week.

The Associated Press teams, which are selected by a league media panel, feature linebacker James Holt and safety Darrell Stuckey on the first team and wide receiver Dezmon Briscoe on the second team.

The AP recognized five more Jayhawks on the honorable mention list, including center Ryan Cantrell, guard Adrian Mayes, wide receiver Kerry Meier, linebacker Joe Mortensen and running back Jake Sharp.

Phil Steele Magazine listed Stuckey on its first team, Briscoe and Holt on its second team and Cantrell, Meier and Sharp on its third team.

Earlier this week the Big 12 Coaches named their All-Big 12 team. Stuckey was a first-team pick, while Briscoe and Holt were second-team picks. Honorable mention selections included defensive tackle Caleb Blakesley, Cantrell, defensive end Jake Laptad, Mayes, Meier, linebacker Mike Rivera and Sharp.