Mangino Named Walter Camp National Coach of the Year

Dec. 11, 2007

NEW HAVEN, CT – Mark Mangino, head coach of the Orange Bowl-bound Kansas
Jayhawks, has been selected as the Walter Camp 2007 “Coach of the Year”
presented by UHY LLP ( The Walter Camp Coach of the Year
recipient is voted by the nation’s 119 Division I-A coaches and sports
information directors.

Mangino is the first Kansas coach to earn the honors. It is the fourth
time since 1998 a Big 12 coach has earned Walter Camp Coach of the Year
honors. Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops won it in 2000 and 2003, while former Kansas
State head coach Bill Snyder received it in 1998.

The 2007 season has been a historic one for the Kansas football program.
Under Mangino’s guidance, the Jayhawks had their first 11-0 start in school
history and earned their highest national ranking (#2 in USA TODAY and AP
polls) since 1968.

Mangino’s team has been one of the nation’s best statistically, ranking
among the nation’s elite in scoring offense (2nd, 43.3 ppg), total offense
(6th, 491 ypg), scoring defense (5th (16.00 ppg) and rushing defense (7th,
91.42 ypg). The well-disciplined Jayhawks top the country in fewest
penalties (48) and turnover margin (+1.58).

For its efforts, Kansas (11-1) has been invited to the 2008 Orange Bowl to
play ACC-champion Virginia Tech. Two Jayhawk players – junior offensive
linemen Anthony Collins and junior cornerback Aqib Talib – were recently
recognized as Walter Camp First Team All-Americans.

Mangino has been also recognized as the 2007 Big 12 Coach of the Year, and
as The Home Depot and Woody Hayes National Coach of the Year.

Mangino was hired at KU in December 2001 after serving 11 seasons as an
assistant at Kansas State (1991-1998) and Oklahoma (1999-2001). At
Oklahoma, Mangino served as the offensive coordinator for the team that
defeated Florida State for the 2000 national championship. Following that
season, Mangino was awarded the Frank Broyles Award as the nation’s top
assistant coach.

In six seasons, Mangino has taken Kansas to three bowl berths (2003
Tangerine Bowl, 2005 Fort Worth Bowl and 2008 Orange Bowl). Over the last
three seasons, Kansas has sported a 24-12 overall record, including a 13-11
mark in Big 12 play.

A native of New Castle, Pa., Mangino is a 1987 graduate of Youngstown
University. Mangino and his wife, Mary Jane, have two children.

Mangino, “Player of the Year” award winner Darren McFadden (Arkansas) and
the members of the 2007 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the
organization’s national awards banquet on Saturday, January 12, 2008 at the
Yale University Commons. In addition, the Foundation will hold its annual
Fan Fest on Friday, January 11 at the New Haven Athletic Center from 4:00
p.m. to 8:00 p.m. Dinner ($275.00) and Fan Fest tickets ($10.00) can be
purchased by calling (203) 288-CAMP

Walter Camp Coach of the Year recipients

2007 – Mark Mangino, Kansas
2006 – Greg Schiano, Rutgers
2005 – Joe Paterno, Penn State
2004 – Tommy Tuberville, Auburn
2003 – Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
2002 – Kirk Ferentz, Iowa
2001 – Ralph Friedgen, Maryland
2000 – Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
1999 – Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
1998 – Bill Synder, Kansas State
1997 – Lloyd Carr, Michigan
1996 – Bruce Synder, Arizona State
1995 – Gary Barnett, Northwestern
1994 – Joe Paterno, Penn State
1993 – Terry Bowden, Auburn
1992 – Gene Stallings, Alabama
1991 – Bobby Bowden, Florida State
1990 – Bobby Ross, Georgia Tech
1989 – Bill McCartney, Colorado
1988 – Don Nehlen, West Virginia
1987 – Dick MacPherson, Syracuse
1986 – Jimmy Johnson, Miami
1985 – Fisher DeBerry, Air Force
1984 – Joe Morrisson, South Carolina
1983 – Mike White, Illinois
1982 – Jerry Stovall, Louisiana State
1981 – Jackie Sherrill, Pittsburgh
1980 – Vince Dooley, Georgia
1979 – John Mackovic, Wake Forest
1978 – Warren Powers, Missouri
1977 – Lou Holtz, Arkansas
1976 – Frank R. Burns, Rutgers
1975 – Frank Kush, Arizona State
1974 – Barry Switzer, Oklahoma
1973 – Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
1972 – Joe Paterno, Penn State
1971 – Bob Devaney, Nebraska
1970 – Bob Blackman, Dartmouth
1969 – Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1968 – Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1967 – John Pont, Indiana