Coach Smith Announces Softball Leadership Council

Dec. 15, 2009


In place of team captains, four players have been appointed by Kansas head softball coach Megan Smith to represent the team’s leadership council. Freshman Alex Jones, sophomore Leah Daiber, junior Brittany Hile and senior Sara Ramirez have all been named to the council.

“We have so many good leaders on our team that I found it hard to pick only a couple of players,” said Smith. “We wanted to give the underclassmen a voice, too, so we decided to choose one player from each class.”

Much like team captains, the softball team’s leadership council will meet regularly with Coach Smith to discuss team issues and keep a steady line of open communication between the coaching staff and players.

“Each one of the players I selected has shown a lot of leadership qualities this fall,” Smith said. “They have been working extremely hard and I know they will continue to do so.”

The Jayhawks’ softball team opens their 2010 season on Feb. 12-14 at the Marriott Hobby Invite hosted by the University of Houston.