Kansas' Sherron Collins Named to 2009 Naismith Trophy Watch List

Dec. 18, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas junior guard Sherron Collins was one of 50 players named to the watch list for the 2009 Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday.

Collins leads the Jayhawks this season in scoring (17.9), assists (4.8) and steals (1.7). The Chicago native is fifth in the Big 12 in scoring and also ranks among the league leaders in field goal percentage, assists, free throw percentage, steals, three-point field goals made and assist-to-turnover ratio. Collins is one of five Big 12 student-athletes on the 50-player watch list. Conference players joining Collins on the list include Blake Griffin (Oklahoma), A.J. Abrams and Damion James (Texas) and Curtis Jerrells (Baylor).

A Preseason All-Big 12 First Team selection, Collins and is also a nominee for the Bob Cousy Award. For his play in the season-opening CBE Classic, Collins was named to the all-tournament team.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2008-09 college basketball season. The watch list does not include incoming freshmen, although those student-athletes will be considered in the first vote in February 2009. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T will be awarded at the 2009 NCAA Men’s Final Four in Detroit, Mich.

For the sixth consecutive season, presenting sponsor AT&T will once again set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year’s winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25 percent of the final results – more than any other national college basketball award. At the beginning of February, CBS’ “AT&T at the Half” will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention.

In February, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its early season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.