NSCAA Names Five Jayhawks All-Central Region

Dec. 20, 2004

Lawrence, Kan. – Five members of the Big 12 Conference Champion University of Kansas soccer team have been selected to the National Soccer Coaches Association of American (NSCAA)/Adidas All-Central Region team. The five selections represented the most by any Big 12 school.

Senior goalkeeper Meghan Miller, sophomore defender Holly Gault and junior forward Caroline Smith were each named first team members. Miller compiled the best season by a goalkeeper in KU soccer history, leading the Big 12 in goals against average (0.57), save percentage (.881) and finishing second in shutouts (11).

Gault, who became the first player from Kansas to be selected as a first team All-American, anchored a young Jayhawk defense which surrendered only 13 goals all season and finished ninth in the country with a team goals against average of 0.55.

Offensively, Smith paced the team for the third consecutive season. The Edina, Minn., native led the Jayhawks in goals (11), assists (10) and points (32). No other school in the region had more than one selection on the first team.

Senior midfielder Amy Geha earned second team honors after tying for fourth on the team with 13 points (four goals, five assists) during the 2004 campaign.

Representing Kansas on the third team was senior forward Rachel Gilfillan. The Cottage Grove, Minn., native finished second on the team in scoring with eight goals and 20 points, while tallying a team-high five game-winning goals.

2004 NSCAA/adidas®
NCAA Division I Women
All-Central Region

First Team
Pos. Name Year School Hometown
GK Meghan Miller Sr. Kansas Seattle, Wash.
D Kimber Bailey Fr. SMU Garland, Texas
D Keely Dowling Sr. Tennessee Carmel, Ind.
D Holly Gault So. Kansas Spring Hill, Kan.
D Sarah Guenther Sr. SW Missouri State Imperial, Mo.
M Dee Guempel So. Saint Louis St. Louis, Mo.
M Fran Munnelly Jr. Colorado Arvada, Colo.
M Brittany Timko So. Nebraska Coquitlam, B.C.
F Ashley Pistorius Fr. Texas A&M Normal, Ill.
F Caroline Smith Jr. Kansas Edina, Minn.
F Kelly Wilson Sr. Texas Odessa, Texas

Second Team
Pos. Name Year School Hometown
K Lauren Shockely Sr. Rice Indianapolis, Ind.
D Caitlin Currie Sr. Rice Plano, Texas
D Courtney Hulcer So. Saint Louis St. Louis, Mo.
D Leanne McGee Sr. Memphis North Shields, England
D Ivonne Valentine Jr. Creighton Papillion, Neb.
M Ali Christoph So. Tennessee Columbus, Ohio
M Amy Geha Sr. Kansas Overland Park, Kan.
M Kayla Lockaby Sr. Tennessee Hamilton, Ohio
F Nikki Baker Jr. Nebraska Bixby, Okla.
F Jessica Kellogg Jr. Oral Roberts Tulsa, Okla.
F Olivia O’Rear So. SMU Farmers Branch, Texas

Third Team
Pos. Name Year School Hometown
K Kati Jo Spisak Jr. Texas A&M Marchester, Mo.
D Gentry Detter So. Oral Roberts Claremore, Okla.
D Erin Droeger Jr. Rice Huntington Beach, Calif.
D Laura Munnelly So. Colorado Arvada, Colo.
M Amy Berend Fr. Texas A&M Highland Village, Texas
M Kristal Menard Sr. Mississippi Crestwood, Ky.
M Elyse Nikonchuk So. Missouri New Lenox, Ill.
F Rachel Gilfillan Sr. Kansas Cottage Grove, Minn.
F Kelly McDonald Sr. Texas Littleton, Colo.
F Lindsey Patterson Sr. Tennessee Puyallup, Wash.
F Jamie Perry Sr. St. Louis St. Louis, Mo.