Soccer Buzz Honors KU's Gault and Smith

Dec. 21, 2005


University of Kansas junior defender Holly Gault and senior forward Caroline Smith were named to the Soccer Buzz All-Central Region First and Second Team, respectively.

Buzz Awards, presented since 1996, were decided by a vote open to all Division I Head Coaches and Soccer Buzz staff. Sixty-seven schools comprising the Central Region, the largest region in the country, were eligible. Soccer Buzz is an online magazine devoted to women’s collegiate soccer.

It marks the second time in a week Gault and Smith made All-Region squads. Gault was named All-Central Region First Team and Smith All-Central Region Third Team by the National Soccer Coaches Association or America (NSCAA).

Gault, a native of Spring Hill, Kan., started all 20 matches for the Jayhawks and tallied four goals and six assists in 2005. The defender helped KU to eight shutouts during the year.

Smith led the Jayhawks in goals (9), assists (8), points (26) and shots (98) during the 2005 campaign. Smith leaves KU as its all-time leader in points, goals, assists, game-winning goals and shots and holds the school record for points, goals, game-winning goals and shots in a season.

First TeamP	PLAYER 	         SCHOOL 	         YEARF 	Kimber Bailey 	SMU 	         SoF 	Shoko Mikami 	Memphis 	         JrF 	Ashlee Pistorius 	Texas A&M 	SoF 	Brittany Timko 	Nebraska 	         JrM 	Ali Christoph 	Tennessee	         JrM 	Fran Munnelly 	Colorado 	         SrM 	Laura Probst 	Texas A&M 	SrM	Chrissy Strini 	Mississippi 	SoD 	Sasha Andrews 	Nebraska 	         SrD 	Holly Gault 	Kansas 	         Jr D 	Kasey Moore 	Texas 	         FrD 	Kim Perkins 	Vanderbilt 	JrG 	Tyler Griffin 	Vanderbilt 	Jr 

Second TeamP PLAYER SCHOOL YEAR F Melissa Garey Texas A&M SoF Maureen Hughes St Louis JrF Heather Hutyra North Texas SoF Caroline Smith Kansas Sr M Susanne Collins SMU JrM Jennifer Hance Mississippi FrM Courtney Hulcer St Louis JrM Lauren McIver Oklahoma SrD Monica Buff Vanderbilt JrD Erin Droeger Rice SrD Jenny Jeffers Tennessee JrD Laura Munnelly Colorado JrG Joanna Haig Iowa State So