7 swimmers and divers named to CSCAA Scholar All-America team

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Seven Kansas swimming and diving Jayhawks found their names on the 2019 College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America Honorable Mention team, the organization announced last week.

Seniors-to-be Elizabeth Amato-Hanner (backstroke, individual medley and butterfly), Haley Downey (breaststroke and individual medley) and Jenny Nusbaum (freestyle); juniors-to-be Crissie Blomquist (freestyle) and Manon Manning (backstroke, butterfly and freestyle); and sophomores-to-be Peri Charapich (diving) and Kate Steward(breaststroke and individual medley) all achieved a grade-point average (GPA) of 3.50 or higher, and a “B” time standard in the pool to earn the nod.

The honorees held many record-breaking accomplishments with Amato-Hanner, Manning and Steward taking part of a record-breaking team in the 200 medley relay and Downey breaking the school record in the 100-yard breaststroke.

In addition, Steward finished first in the 200-yard breaststroke at the 2019 Big 12 Championships with a time of 2:11.98, and also broke the school record in the same event.

Nusbaum swam her way to record-breaking times in the 200-yard freestyle, the 800-yard free relay and the 200-yard freestyle relay

Blomquist broke her own personal record with a time of 1:50.64 in the 200-yard freestyle during the conference championship.

Charapich was the lone diver to be honored and she broke two of her personal bests this season, with scores of 269.05 and 207.15 on the one-meter and platform boards, respectively, both taking place at the conference meet.

This marks the third such honor for Downey and Nusbaum, the second for Manning and it is a first for Amato-Hanner, Blomquist, Charapich and Steward. In addition, Kansas has had at least one individual Scholar All-American in each season dating back to 2013.

About the CSCAA
Founded in 1922, the CSCAA – the first organization of college coaches in America – is a professional organization of college swimming and diving coaches dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming & diving at the collegiate level.