Eleven Jayhawks Earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors

List Complete List (.pdf)

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Eleven members of the Kansas baseball program were recognized by the Big 12 Conference as the league office unveiled its 2016 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team Thursday morning.
Four Jayhawks were named as repeat honorees in seniors right hander Hayden Edwards (civil engineering), third baseman Tommy Mirabelli (sport management), right fielder Joe Moroney (accounting and finance) and second baseman Colby Wright (sport management). Mirabelli, Moroney and Wright racked up Academic All-Big 12 First Team honors while Edwards earned Academic All-Big 12 Second Team recognition.
In addition, Mirabelli nabbed his second-career first team nod, while Wright earned his third-straight academic all-conference distinction after being named to the second team in 2014 and 2015. Moroney and Edwards were both second team honorees in 2015 as well.

“I am really proud of the job these guys have done in the classroom,” head coach Ritch Price said. “In the fall, our team posted the highest team GPA (grade-point average) in Kansas baseball history and had the most guys on the honor roll since I have been here. For these young men to keep that up this spring is a very impressive accomplishment.”

Joining Mirabelli, Moroney and Wright on the first team were sophomore shortstop Matt McLaughlin (business administration), sophomore lefty Blake Weiman (physical education and teaching) and junior designated hitter Marcus Wheeler (sport management). The sextet made up what were 57-total first team honorees from around the conference achieving a 3.20-plus GPA.
Junior centerfielder Joven Afenir (sport management), senior reliever Sam Gilbert (liberal arts and sciences), senior first baseman Ryan Pidhaichuk (communication studies) and sophomore designated hitter Owen Taylor (sport management), along with Edwards were all tabbed with second team recognition by way of a GPA of 3.00-3.19.
To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. First team honorees hold a GPA of 3.20 or higher, while the second team recognizes those with a GPA of 3.00-3.19.
Kansas hits the road for its second-to-last conference series of the season as the Jayhawks travel to Manhattan, Kansas, for the annual Sunflower Showdown presented by Dillons with in-state rival Kansas State, May 13-15.
KUAthletics.com:  The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.