Coolidge, Thierolf earn KU rowing’s top honors

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing celebrated the 2018 season with its annual end of the year banquet and luncheon following KU’s trip to the Big 12 Championship in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.
With finals and the racing season over, the Jayhawks came together on Monday afternoon to celebrate the accomplishments and hard work of the last 12 months. Seniors Bailey Coolidge and Kaelyn Thierolf were honored with the top honors after being named the 2018 Coxswain of the Year and Oarswoman of the Year, respectively.Assistant coach Kelsey Arnold
and senior Bailey Coolidge
Both Coolidge and Thierolf were members of the First Varsity Eight crew this past season, excelling both on and off the water claiming awards for their efforts in the boat and in the classroom. Thierolf capped off her four-year career with Kansas by earning her third All-Big 12 honor at the Big 12 Championship.
Shannon Cody worked her way up to the top 16 throughout the season and earned a seat in the Second Varsity Eight. Her work throughout the 2017-18 season earned Cody the Most Improved Freshman honor from the coaches. Another first-year rower that quickly moved her way up the ranks was Lauren Fee. After earning a seat in the Second Varsity Eight and recording some of the top erg scores, Fee was named the Outstanding Freshman for the 2017-18 season.
The coaching staff awarded the Most Improved Rower to junior Kelly Koenigsman. The Hays, Kansas native was a permanent fixture in the Fours and finished the season in KU’s First Varsity Four at the Big 12 Championship. Koenigsman helped the Second Varsity Four to a first place finish at the George Mason Invite.
Each year, the senior class chooses an underclassmen for the Essence of a Jayhawk award. The honor goes to a rower that exhibits the qualities of a Jayhawk – being a good teammate and a positive individual that works hard. As selected by the seniors, the 2018 honoree is junior Michaela Theis.
Additionally, all of the Jayhawks that earned a letter during the 2017-18 academic year received their letterman’s gift. The first year letterwinners were present with their letterman jacket, while the second years got their K blanket and the third years received their K watch. Earlier in the spring, the senior class were presented with their K Ring.



@KansasRowing The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.