Eighth annual Rock Chalk Choice Awards set for Sept. 8

LAWRENCE, Kan.— The eighth annual Rock Chalk Choice Awards is scheduled to take place on Sunday, September 8, at the Lied Center on the University of Kansas campus. The ceremony is set to honor student-athletes and moments from the 2018-19 Kansas Athletics season.

Voice of the Jayhawks Brian Hanni will be returning as the emcee for the Academy Awards style event. Following the red-carpet entrance and reception, there will be eight awards—True Blue Award, Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role, Crimson Climb Award, Jayhawker Award, Rock Chalk Moment of the Year, Del Shankel Award, and Male and Female Athlete of the Year—that will be announced throughout the evening. Along with the eight awards, special student-athlete academic achievements and All-Americans will also be recognized throughout the program.

All the nominees for each category will be released in the coming weeks leading up to the event. The True Blue Award, Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role and the Rock Chalk Moment of the Year nominees will be released on August 22, the Crimson Climb Award, Jayhawker Award and Del Shankel Award will be announced on August 29, followed by the Athlete of the Year nominees on September 5.

Several notable names from Kansas Athletics will be presenting the awards this year, including current athletes Hakeem Adeniji (football), Niki Ramalho (women’s basketball), Brooks Asher (baseball), Chloe Akin-Otiko (women’s track and field), Ben Butler (cross country), Brittany Jackson (softball), Carley Straight (swimming and diving), Chris Hughes (football), George Letner (men’s track and field) and Heidi Burns (rowing).

Due to space limitations, the event is by invitation only and is limited to athletic department staff, student-athletes, and selected KU faculty and dignitaries.

KUAthletics.com:  The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.