Jimmay Mundine Named Semi-Finalist for the John Mackey Award

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas senior Jimmay Mundine was named one of eight semi-finalists for the John Mackey Award Monday morning, it was announced by The John Mackey Award. Mundine is the first Kansas player to be named a semi-finalist for the award, which has been in existence since 2000.
A native of Denison, Texas, Mundine recorded a career-best tying seven receptions for a career-high 137 yards and a touchdown, leading the Jayhawks in receptions and receiving yards in their near-upset of fifth-ranked TCU in their last outing. Mundine’s 137-yard receiving performance was the most for a Kansas tight end since 1974.
Mundine is having a strong senior campaign as he leads all Big 12 Conference tight ends and ranks fourth nationally among the position group with his 537 receiving yards on 40 catches. He is averaging 13.4 yards per catch in 2014 and has scored three touchdowns. His 537 receiving yards are the most by a tight end from a ‘Power 5’ conference and his 40 receptions ranks second among tight ends from a ‘Power 5′ conference. Mundine has been critical to Kansas’ offensive improvement as 30 of his 40 receptions have resulted in first downs or touchdowns.
Mundine was named the John Mackey Award Tight End of the Week following his performance against Central Michigan. He has picked up honorable mention John Mackey Award Tight End of the Week honors twice this season, following games at Texas Tech and against Iowa State.
Joining Mundine as a semi-finalist for the John Mackey Award are E.J. Bibbs (SR, Iowa State), Evan Engram (SO, Ole Miss), Ben Koyack (SR, Notre Dame), Nick O’Leary (SR, Florida State), Jean Sifrin (JR, Massachusetts), Clive Walford (SR, Miami) and Maxx Williams (SO, Minnesota).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award
Selection Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2014 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 10, 2014 and presented live on December 11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPNU. The 2014 Mackey finalists will be announced on November 24, 2014.
NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.
The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence.
KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.