Football lands 19 on Academic All-Big 12 teams

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Highlighted by junior cornerback Colin Spencer – who earned his third-straight selection to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team – Kansas football notched 19 student-athletes on Academic All-Big 12 Teams the league office announced Thursday.
Kansas’ 19 honorees were tied for second-most in the league in 2016 and ranks as the program’s third-highest total in the Big 12 era. The Jayhawks fielded a program-high 23 honorees in 2014.
Spencer, a native of Dallas, Texas, was one of 10 Jayhawks named to the First Team of student-athletes with a 3.20-plus GPA. Other first team members were: Shakiem Barbel, Montell Cozart, Joe Gibson, Larry Hughes, Keith Loneker Jr., Austin Moses, Tyler Patrick, Cameron Rosser and Ryan Willis.
Nine seniors comprised KU’s second team selections as Courtney Arnick, D’Andre Banks, Anthony Olobia, Marcquis Roberts, Jordan Shelley-Smith, Will Smith, Fish Smithson, John Wirtel and Michael Zunica were honored.
Mainstays on the Academic All-Big 12 Team were Cozart (2016 first team, 2014 second team), Gibson (2016 first team, 2015 first team, 2014 second team), Patrick (2016 first team, 2015 second team), Rosser (2016 first team, 2015 second team), Shelley-Smith (2016 second team, 2015 second team), Spencer (2016 first team, 2015 first team, 2014 first team), Wirtel (2016 second team, 2015 second team) and Zunica (2016 second team, 2015 second team, 2014 second team).  
Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services, the football academic all-league squad consisted of 91 first-team members combined with 65 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher, either cumulative or over the two previous semesters, and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. True freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
UP NEXT: Kansas plays host to Texas on Nov. 19 for senior day. Kickoff is slated for 2:30 p.m., and will be broadcast on ABC/ESPN2. The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.