Rock Chalk Choice Awards to Honor KU’s Finest Student-Athletes

LAWRENCE, Kan. – For the third consecutive year, Kansas Athletics will celebrate its best student-athlete performances of the previous school year – on and off the field of play – with the Rock Chalk Choice Awards, an Academy Awards-like event, Sunday, Sept. 7, at the Lied Center of Kansas. On Friday, the nominating committee released the nominees for the Jayhawker Award, one of seven total awards to be presented.

Following a red-carpet entrance and a reception in the Lied Center lobby, accolades in seven different categories – Jayhawker Award, Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role, The Crimson Climb Award, True Blue Award, Rock Chalk Moment Award, and Male and Female Athlete of the Year – will be unveiled and special student-athlete academic achievements will be recognized during the ceremony in the auditorium.

As in years past, due to space limitations at the Lied Center the event is by invitation only and limited to athletics department staff, student-athletes and their families, KU faculty and selected dignitaries.

Ben Heeney (football), Alex Jones (softball), Natalie Knight (women’s basketball), Erin McNorton (volleyball) and Tucker Tharp (baseball) have all been nominated for the Jayhawker Award, presented in honor of the pioneers who held true to their values through devastation and hardship while founding the state of Kansas. The nominees of this award have exhibited a commitment to Kansas principles and demonstrate mental toughness in the face of adversity and competition while making a positive contribution to Kansas Athletics.

Nominees for the other six awards will be announced in the coming weeks. The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.