Kansas earns conference-best 14 Dr. Gerald Lage Award recipients

IRVING, Texas – The Big 12 Conference announced the recipients of its highest academic honor, the Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award on Tuesday, with 14 Kansas student-athletes earning the accolade, tying Oklahoma and Oklahoma State for most the recipients. In total, 92 student-athletes across the league’s 10 schools were honored.
Riley Cooney (track & field), Courtney Coppinger (track & field), Anna Courtney (soccer), Hannah Driscoll (swimming & diving), Andie Formby (softball), Nick Giusti (track & field), Meghan Karoly (rowing), Hannah Lukinac (soccer), Sarah Miller (softball), Alexis Romero (track & field), Reese Randall (football), Alex Schweitzer (soccer), Laura Taylor (track & field) and Kaelyn Thierolf (rowing) will all receive the award and be publicly recognized at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship, March 7-10 at the Sprint Center in Kansas City.
In its eighth year, the award has recognized a total of 580 conference student-athletes. The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).
To receive the award, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. Each honoree can only be recognized once for the award and should have earned 100 hours of credit with a cumulative GPA of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.
KUAthletics.com:  The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.