True Blue, Jayhawker Award nominees announced by Rock Chalk Choice Awards committee

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Nominees for the True Blue and Jayhawker Award were announced by the Rock Chalk Choice Awards committee on Thursday. The committee has now announced four nominee groups for the Seventh Annual Rock Chalk Choice Awards after revealing the candidates for the Crimson Climb Award and the Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role last week.
The True Blue Award honors a student-athlete who demonstrates devotion to excellence in academics and athletics while advancing Kansas Athletics through participation in student organizations or community service projects. The award will be presented by recent Kansas baseball alumni Casey Douglas and current women’s track & field team member Mariah Kuykendoll.
This year’s nominees for the True Blue Award are Angie Allen (rowing), Nick Giusti (men’s track & field), Nina Khmelnitckaia (tennis), Kylee Kopatich (women’s basketball) and Laura Taylor (women’s track & field).
The Jayhawker award, which is presented to an athlete that has exhibited a commitment to Kansas principles and demonstrated mental toughness in the face of adversity and competition while making a positive contribution to Kansas Athletics. The Jayhawker award will be presented by current Jayhawk student-athletes Khalil Herbert (football) and Patricia Montero (volleyball).
The nominees for the Jayhawker Award include Udoka Azubuike (men’s basketball), Taylor Christie (soccer), Joe Dineen Jr. (football), Harli Ridling (softball) and Alexis Romero (women’s track & field).
Following a red-carpet entrance that will aired live on the KU Leads Instagram account and a reception in the Lied Center lobby, accolades in five additional categories – Jayhawker Award, True Blue Award, Rock Chalk Moment Award, and Male and Female Athlete of the Year – will be unveiled and special student-athlete academic achievements will be recognized during the ceremony on September 9.

Due to space limitations, the event is by invitation only and limited to athletic department staff, student-athletes, and selected KU faculty and dignitaries.
2018 Rock Chalk Choice Awards Nominees
Best Jayhawk in a Supporting Role
Jeremiah Booker (football)
Casey Douglas (baseball)
Hannah Driscoll (swimming & diving/cross country/track & field)
Kallie Gonzales (women’s golf)
Nina Khmelnitckaia (tennis)
Crimson Climb Award
Rod Harris Jr. (football alumni)
Willie McCaleb (football)
Sydnee Ramsey (softball)
Anastasia Rychagova (tennis)
True Blue Award
Angie Allen (rowing)
Nick Giusti (men’s track & field)
Nina Khmelnitckaia (tennis)
Kylee Kopatich (women’s basketball)
Laura Taylor (women’s track & field)
Male Athlete of the Year
Announced on September 6
Female Athlte of the Year
Anounced on September 6  The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.