Jayhawks notch 3 entries to NCAA Championships on final day of West Prelims



SACRAMENTO, Calif. – Kansas track & field earned three qualifying marks to the 2019 NCAA Outdoor Championships on the final day of the West Preliminary Rounds at Hornet Stadium in Sacramento, California. Freshmen Cordell Tinch and Treyvon Ferguson punched their tickets to Austin, Texas in the 110-meter hurdles and triple jump, respectively, and the women’s 4×400-meter relay team picked up a time qualifier to the national meet, set for June 5-8 at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

Tinch, a freshman from Green Bay, Wisconsin, qualified for the NCAA Championships by winning his heat and posting the fifth-fastest overall time in the quarterfinals of the 110 hurdles at 13.70 seconds. The time was the No. 5 performance in KU history, behind his No. 4 mark of 13.63 set in the first round on Friday.

Ferguson used a personal-best mark of 15.68 meters (55-5.5 ft.) on his third and final attempt of the day to move into the second-place spot through the first two flights of the triple jump, which ultimately held on for the 11th-best mark of the West Prelims for the qualifying spot.

Redshirt sophomore Mariah Kuykendoll led off the women’s 4×400-meter relay before handing off to junior Jedah Caldwell. Caldwell then gave way to senior Marleena Eubanks, who ran the penultimate leg of the race before Honour Finley anchored the team home with a 53.46 split to place fourth in the heat. Though they had to wait through the next two heats to make sure their time held up, the quartet didn’t sweat as their clocking was the fastest of the three time qualifiers.

Kansas Jayhawks


  • Cordell Tinch also competed in the high jump on Saturday where he finished with a clearance of 2.01 meters (6-7 ft.), finishing in a tie for 31st.
  • The men’s 4×400-meter relay team of Marcus Davis, Cody Johnson, Ethan Fogle and Bryce Hoppel clocked the 20th-fastest time in the quarterfinal at 3:10.77.

The Jayhawks will have a total of seven entries at the 2019 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin, Texas, June 5-8.