Kansas rowing concludes season-opening Oak Ridge Cardinal Invite


OAK RIDGE, Tenn. – The Kansas rowing team finished strong on day two of the Oak Ridge Cardinal Invitational Sunday at the Melton Lake Rowing Venue. The Jayhawks had one boat claim a first-place victory and several boats cross the finish line in third place.

“We’re still working on who is in which boats, but we are rowing at a higher level than last year at this point, so that’s a good sign,” Kansas rowing head coach Rob Catloth said. “The competition here was really tough though – there were some teams that will compete for a national championship in May.”

KU opened the morning with a fourth-place finish in the Varsity Eight race, crossing the line at 6:45.947 – just fractions of a second behind Clemson. The Jayhawks finished just five seconds after top-finisher Minnesota.

Up next for the Jayhawks was the Varsity Four A competition, claiming a third-place finish with a time of 7:49.831.

In the Third Varsity Eight race, Kansas earned its first victory of the season with a time of 7:13.092, outlasting top competitors Miami and Tennessee.

KU’s Second Varsity Eight and Varsity Four B to back-to-back third-place finishes. The boats completed the races with times of 6:53.880 and 7:49.831, respectively.

In the final event, Kansas chalked up a second-place finish, completing the Varsity Four C race with a time of 7:52.252.

“I think as the week went on we improved, which is what we were trying to do. We’re trying to race more maturely and I think we’re doing that,” Catloth said. “So, I’m pretty pleased with how we’re starting the season.”

Kansas will be back in action on April 1, traveling to Bloomington, Indiana, to face off with Indiana.

Varsity Eight – V8
Coxswain: Mallory Miller
Katherine Young
BriAnna Dittberner
McKayla Ross
Margret Winter
Kaelyn Thierolf
Lilly Stewart 
Jordan Helms
Meghan Karoly

Second Varsity Eight – 2V8 
Coxswain: Kenzie Obrochta
Kayla Stubblefield
Maddie Irelan
Reese Arnold
Allison Schaaf
Peyton Anderson
Kylee Dewey
Angie Allen
Lexie Lanphere

Varsity Four A – V4a 
Coxswain: Bailey Coolidge
Amelia Moore
Morgan Kottas
Brittney Railsback
Emily Ruble

Varsity Four B – V4b 
Coxswain: Katie McWhirter
Caitlin McNulty
Madison Hovis
Hope McAlexander
Madison Ruffalo

Varsity Four C – V4c
Coxswain: Riley Varuska
Alex Burns
Kalyn Blessing
Aminah Reid-Brydon
Madison Wedderspoon

Third Varsity Eight / Novice Eight – 3V8/N8 
Coxswain: Abigale Lane
Kristen Underhill
Kate Mizell
Keaton Poppe
Valerie Swisher
Isabel Horroz
Mackenzie Klaver
Bailey Brandon
Bailey Blood


KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.