Kansas rowing lands program-best 22 on Academic All-Big 12 Team

PDF 2017 Academic All-Big 12 Rowing Team (.pdf)

IRVING, Texas – A program-best 22 University of Kansas rowing student-athletes are listed on the 2017 Academic All-Big 12 Rowing Team, as announced by the Conference on Wednesday. In addition, a program-best eight senior Jayhawks earned first-team recognition for the third-straight year.

In total, 176 rowing student-athletes across the Big 12 were honored – 19 of whom earned a 4.00 grade-point-average. Kansas paved the way with a co-conference-high four Jayhawks earning a 4.00 grade-point-average. The first team is comprised of 159 honorees with 20 Jayhawks, while the second team totals 17 with two Jayhawks.

KU’s 4.00 GPA standouts – who also earned first-team honors – include seniors Jordan Helms, Mallory Miller, Emily Ruble, and junior Kaelyn Thierolf. Rounding out KU’s first-team honorees are seniors Bailey Brandon, Kylee Dewey, Maddie Irelan, Lexie Lanphere, Olivia Loney, Kenzie Obrochta, Brittney Railsback, Kathrine Young, juniors Angie Allen, Bailey Coolidge, Mackenzie Klaver, Valerie Swisher, Margret Winter, sophomores Meghan Karoly, Katie McWhirter, and Lilly Stewart. Sophomore McKayla Ross and senior Allison Schaaf earned second-team recognition.

To say that the KU rowing senior class of 2017 has been dedicated to academics during their careers would be an understatement. Since the Big 12 began handing out Academic All-Big 12 honors in 2012, 15 Jayhawks have earned first-team honors all three years they have been eligible for the recognition. Eight of those 15 Jayhawks are 2017 seniors – Brandon, Ruble, Helms, Obrochta, Dewey, Lanphere, Irelan, and Miller.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Academic All-Big 12 Team is made up of members from Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas, West Virginia, and the league’s three affiliate members in the sport – Alabama, Old Dominion and Tennessee.


First Team
Angie Allen (Jr.; Sports Management; Waterloo, Iowa)
Bailey Brandon (Sr.; Civil Engineering; Cameron Park, Calif.)
Bailey Coolidge (Jr.; Psychology/Pre Med; Round Rock, Texas)
Kylee Dewey (Sr.; Middle Math Education; Silver Lake, Kan.)
Jordan Helms (Sr.; Exercise Science; Le Mars, Iowa)
Maddie Irelan (Sr.; News & Information; Dublin, Iowa)
Meghan Karoly (So.; Exercise Science; DeSoto, Mo.)
Mackenzie Klaver (Jr.; Human Biology/Pre Med; Norwich, Kan.)
Lexie Lanphere (Sr.; English; Shorewood, Wisc.)
Olivia Loney (Sr.; Accounting Masters; Lawrence, Kan.)
Katie McWhirter (So.; Elementary Education; Kansas City, Mo.)
Mallory Miller (Sr.; Speech, Language & Hearing; Pleasant Hill, Mo.)
Kenzie Obrochta (Sr.; Sports Management; Buffalo, N.Y.)
Brittney Railsback (Sr.; Psychology; Lenexa, Kan.)
Emily Ruble (Sr.; Early Child Education; Leavenworth, Kan.)
Lilly Stewart (So.; News & Information; Tecumseh, Kan.)
Valerie Swisher (Jr.; Social Work; Wamego, Kan.)
Kaelyn Thierolf (Jr.; Secondary Social Studies; Marion, Kan.)
Margret Winter (Jr.; Exercise Science; Ballwin, Mo.)
Katherine Young (Sr.; Music; Chesterfield, Mo.)

Second Team
McKayla Ross (So.; Molecular Biology; Kansas City, Mo.)
Allison Schaaf (Sr.; Finance; Ankeny, Iowa)


2017 – 22
2016 – 21
2015 – 18
2014 – 19
2013 – 12
2012 – 19


Abbey Lozenski (2012, 2013, 2014)
Bailey Brandon (2015, 2016, 2017)
Elizabeth Scherer (2012, 2013, 2014)
Emily Ruble (2015, 2016, 2017)
Emma Umbarger (2012, 2013, 2014)
Jennifer Hartzler (2013, 2014, 2015)
Jordan Helms (2015, 2016, 2017)
Kenzie Obrochta (2015, 2016, 2017)
Kylee Dewey (2015, 2016, 2017)
Lexie Lanphere (2015, 2016, 2017)
Maddie Irelan (2015, 2016, 2017)
Mallory Miller (2015, 2016. 2017)
Mary Slattery (2014, 2015, 2016)
Sara Lasini (2013, 2014, 2015)
Tessa Scott (2014, 2015, 2016)

Twitter @KU_Rowing
Instagram @kansasrowing
Facebook /KansasRowing

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.