Kansas tennis reveals 2019-20 schedule

LAWRENCE, Kan.— Kansas women’s tennis head coach Todd Chapman released the team’s 2019-20 campaign Wednesday, as the No. 13 nationally ranked Jayhawks look to repeat as Big 12 Champions with a tough schedule that features eight top-25 teams, 13 top-40 teams and 12 teams that made the NCAA Tournament in 2019.

"We are really excited about our 2019-20 fall and spring schedule. We have put together the most demanding spring schedule in my seven seasons here [at Kansas], so we will definitely be challenged and have a lot of great opportunities in front of us. To have the chance to play eight top-25, 13 top-40, and 17 of the top-75 teams in the country is a great experience for our young team to prepare for postseason play."

Todd Chapman, Kansas head coach

Kansas’ 2019-20 schedule features 10 fall tournaments and three spring tournaments, followed by 18 dual matches.

Similar to a year ago, the spring schedule kicks off with two tournaments: the Orlando Invitational and the ITA Kickoff Tournament, which KU will be hosting. Two home matches on Jan. 18 and 20 separate the tourneys.

KU will have a tournament and seven more dual matches before entering conference play.

In Big 12 Conference action, Kansas will welcome Oklahoma (March 13), Oklahoma State (March 15), Texas (March 20) and Baylor (March 22) to the Jayhawk Tennis Center. KU will travel to TCU (March 27), Texas Tech (March 29), West Virginia (April 3), Iowa State (April 5), and Kansas State (April 11) for their road matches this season.

The Big 12 Women’s Tennis Championship will be hosted in Stillwater, Oklahoma, April 16-19 with times yet to be determined.