Lawson named Associated Press & Consensus All-America Third Team

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named to the 2019 Associated Press (AP) All-America Third Team, the AP announced Tuesday.

With the AP team announced, the NCAA released the 2019 Consensus All-America teams and Lawson was named to the third team. Consensus All-America Teams are determined by aggregating the results of the four major All-America teams by the NCAA, those being the AP, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA), the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) and The Sporting News.

Lawson’s consensus honor gives Kansas four-straight years with a Jayhawk on the Consensus All-America teams joining Perry Ellis in 2016 (second team), Frank Mason III in 2017 (first team) and Devonte’ Graham in 2018 (first team). Historically, Lawson is the 13th Jayhawk in the Bill Self era, which began in 2003-04, to be named Consensus All-America.

The Associated Press All-America Team was selected and voted on by a media panel of 64.

Lawson concluded his first season at Kansas averaging 19.4 points and 10.3 rebounds per game, leading the Big 12 in both stats and becoming the first Jayhawk to average a double-double since All-America Thomas Robinson who averaged 17.7 points and 11.9 rebounds in 2011-12. The 2019 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection, Lawson is the only player in the league averaging a double-double.

Kansas Jayhawks

Lawson amassed 22 double-doubles in 2018-19 which ranks tied for second nationally and third on the Kansas single-season list. The Memphis, Tennessee, forward was a three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11) this past season.

Historically, Lawson has 58 career double-doubles, which are fourth on the NCAA Division I active list. He is the only non-senior on the NCAA Division I top-10 list.

2019 Associated Press All-America First Team
RJ Barrett, Duke (Fr., F)
Ja Morant, Murray State (So., G)
Grant Williams, Tennessee (Jr., F)
Zion Williamson, Duke (Fr., F)
Cassius Winston, Michigan State (Jr., G)

2019 Associated Press All-America Second Team
Jarrett Culver, Texas Tech (So., G)
Carsen Edwards, Purdue (Jr., G)
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga (Jr., F)
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (Sr., F).
Markus Howard, Marquette (Jr., G)

Kansas Jayhawks

2019 Associated Press All-America Second Team
Brandon Clarke, Gonzaga (Jr., F/C)
Kyle Guy, Virginia (Jr., G)
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia (So., G)
PJ Washington, Kentucky (So., F)

Kansas Consensus All-America selections under Bill Self
2005 – Wayne Simien (first team)
2009 – Sherron Collins (second team)
2010 – Sherron Collins (first team), Cole Aldrich (second team)
2011 – Marcus Morris (second team)
2012 – Thomas Robinson (first team)
2013 – Ben McClemore (second team), Jeff Withey (second team)
2014 – Andrew Wiggins (second team)
2016 – Perry Ellis (second team)
2017 – Frank Mason III (first team)
2018 – Devonte’ Graham (first team)
2019 – Dedric Lawson (third team)

Kansas Jayhawks

Dedric Lawson 2018-19 Honors
Consensus All-America Third Team [2019]
Associated Press All-America Third Team [2019]
NABC All-America Third Team [2019]
USBWA All-America Third Team [2019]
Big 12 All-Tournament Team [2019]
The Sporting News All-America Second Team [2019]
All-Big 12 First Team [2019]
Big 12 Newcomer of the Year [2019]
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Finalist (1 of 5)
Naismith Trophy Semifinalist (1 of 10)
Naismith Trophy Midseason Team (1 of 30)
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Watch List (1 of 10)
Oscar Robertson Trophy Final Midseason Watch List (1 of 12)
Wooden Award Midseason Watch List (1 of 25)
3x Big 12 Player of the Week (11.12, 11.26, 12.26)
5x Big 12 Newcomer of the Week (12.2, 12.17, 1.14, 1.28, 2.11)
Oscar Robertson Midseason Watch List (1 of 20)
NIT Season Tip-Off Most Valuable Player
Wooden Award Preseason Watch List (1 of 50)
NABC Player of the Year candidate (1 of 20)
Preseason Associated Press All-America
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidate (1 of 20)
Preseason All-Big 12 First Team