Kansas Signees Named McDonald’s All-Americans

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas men’s basketball signees Cliff Alexander and Kelly Oubre will participate in the McDonald’s All-America game on April 2 at the United Center in Chicago.
Alexander, from Curie High School in Chicago, is currently listed the No. 4 overall recruit according to rivals.com and averaging 27 points, 17 rebounds and five blocked shots per game this season. Oubre, from Findley Prep in Henderson, Nev., is ranked No. 12 by rivals.com and scoring 23 points per game. Oubre grew up in New Orleans and moved to Houston following Hurricane Katrina before moving the Nevada to finish his high school career.
The duo were two of the 10 selected to the Naismith Trophy High School Player of the Year Early-Season Watch List in December. Additionally, Alexander and Oubre were named to USA Basketball Junior National Select Team announced Jan. 20. The 2014 USA Junior National Select Team will take on a World Select Team in the 2014 Nike Hoop Summit on April 12 at the Moda Center in Portland, Ore.
Kansas currently has three McDonald’s All-Americans on its roster with sophomore F Perry Ellis, freshman G Wayne Selden, Jr., and freshman G Andrew Wiggins. Alexander and Oubre bring Kansas’ all-time McDonald’s All-Americans total to 36, including 15 that have played for current KU head coach Bill Self. The first McDonald’s All-America Team was named in 1977 and included KU great Darnell Valentine.
Kansas McDonald’s All-Americans
Darnell Valentine (1977)
Greg Dreiling (1981)
Danny Manning (1984)
Rick Calloway (1985)
Tony Guy (1985)
Mark Randall (1986)
Mike Maddox (1987)
Darrin Hancock (1990)
Ben Davis (1991)
Calvin Rayford (1991)
Jacque Vaughn (1993)
Raef LaFrentz (1994)
Paul Pierce (1995)
Ryan Robertson (1995)
Lester Earl (1996)
Eric Chenowith (1997)
Kenny Gregory (1997)
Jeff Boschee (1998)
Nick Collison (1999)
Aaron Miles (2001)
Wayne Simien (2001)
J.R. Giddens (2003)
David Padgett (2003)
Mario Chalmers (2005)
Micah Downs (2005)
Julian Wright (2005)
Darrell Arthur (2006)
Sherron Collins (2006)
Cole Aldrich (2007)
Xavier Henry (2009)
Josh Selby (2010)
Perry Ellis (2012)
Wayne Selden, Jr. (2013)
Andrew Wiggins (2013)
Cliff Alexander (2014)
Kelly Oubre (2014)
KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.