Brandon Rush Joins Elite KU Company in Winning NBA Title

LAWRENCE, Kan. – With the Golden State Warriors winning the 2015 NBA title Tuesday night, former Kansas standout Brandon Rush joined Clyde Lovellette and Mario Chalmers as Jayhawks who have won both an NCAA National Championship and an NBA title during their basketball career.

Rush and Chalmers were starters on Kansas’ 2008 NCAA National Championship team. Chalmers, who was the Most Outstanding Player (MOP) of the 2008 Final Four, has won two NBA titles with the Miami Heat in 2012 and 2014.

Lovellette was the MOP of the 1952 NCAA Tournament in which Kansas won in Seattle. He later won three NBA titles with the Minneapolis Lakers in 1954 and the Boston Celtics in 1963 and 1964.

In winning the title, Rush becomes the 11th Jayhawk to win an NBA title. The group has collectively been a part of 16 NBA crowns.

Prior to this season’s title, Golden State won its only other NBA title in 1975, a team which featured former KU standout Bill Bridges.

KU NBA Champions
Clyde Lovellette (1950-52 at KU), Minneapolis Lakers – 1954; Boston Celtics – 1963, 1964
Maurice King (1955-57 at KU), Boston Celtics – 1960
Wilt Chamberlain (1957-58 at KU), Philadelphia 76ers – 1967; L.A. Lakers – 1972
Jo Jo White (1966-69 at KU), Boston Celtics – 1974, 1976
Bill Bridges (1959-61 at KU), Golden State Warriors – 1975
Wayne Simien (2002-05 at KU), Miami Heat – 2006
Jacque Vaughn (1994-97 at KU), San Antonio Spurs – 2007
Paul Pierce (1996-98 at KU), Boston Celtics – 2008
Scot Pollard (1994-97 at KU), Boston Celtics – 2008
Mario Chalmers (2006-08 at KU), Miami Heat – 2012, 2013
Brandon Rush (2006-08 at KU), Golden State Warriors – 2015

Kansas NBA Finals Most Valuable Players
Wilt Chamberlain – 1972
Jo Jo White – 1976
Paul Pierce – 2008 The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.