Frank Mason named to Bob Cousy Award watch list

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas senior Frank Mason III has been named one of 20 candidates for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by the College of Holy Cross, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday.
Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor, now in its 14th year, recognizes the top point guards in NCAA Division I men’s basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.
Mason is one of three returning starters for Kansas in 2016-17. The Petersburg, Virginia native garnered All-Big 12 Second Team honors for the second-straight season last year and was also named to the 2016 five-person the Big 12 All-Defensive Team.
Mason is Kansas’ leading returning scorer at 12.9 points per game, which ranked 12th in the Big 12 and is the second-highest returning scorer in the league for 2016-17. He led KU in assists at 4.6, which was fourth in the conference.
By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles on April 7, 2017.
Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-50 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.
Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).
For more information on the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, log onto
2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Candidates 

Jalen Adams Connecticut
Maurice Watson Jr. Creighton
Jack Gibbs Davidson
Frank Jackson Duke
Nigel Williams-Goss Gonzaga
Monte Morris Iowa St.
De’Aaron Fox Kentucky
Melo Trimble Maryland
Joel Berry II North Carolina
Dennis Smith North Carolina State
Jawun Evans Oklahoma State
Lonzo Ball University of California, Los Angeles
Jordan McLaughlin University of Southern California
Jalen Brunson Villanova
London Perrantes Virginia
Seth Allen Virginia Tech
Markelle Fultz Washington
Brunson Koenig Wisconsin
Edmund Sumner Xavier

    *Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2016-17 season* The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.