Jackson a finalist for Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award

Link 2017 Postseason Awards
Link HoopHallAwards.com

Julius Erving Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas freshman Josh Jackson has been named one of five finalists for the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Named after Hall of Famer and 11-time NBA All-Star Julius Erving, the annual honor in its third year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the original watch list of 20 candidates down to 10 and now the final five. Joining Jackson as finalists are Jayson Tatum (Duke), Justin Jackson (North Carolina), Dillon Brooks (Oregon) and Josh Hart (Villanova).

A seven-time Big 12 Newcomer of the Week in 2016-17, Jackson averages 16.4 points per game, which is fifth in the Big 12. The two-time Big 12 Player of the Week has seven double-doubles in his last 10 outings and 11 double-doubles for the season, which is a Kansas freshman record. The Detroit native’s 7.2 rebounds per game are sixth in the conference and he leads KU with 51 steals and 33 blocked shots. He is seventh in the Big 12 with 1.6 steals per game and 13th in blocked shots (1.1).

“Josh has accepted coaching, his role and has improved at a consistent clip since the start of the season,” No. 1 Kansas head coach Bill Self said. “The last two months in conference play he performed to an All-American level.”

In his last 11 outings dating back to Kansas’ win at Kentucky on Jan. 28, Jackson has scored 200 points and grabbed 93 rebounds for an average of 18.2 points and 8.5 rebounds. Additionally, he is 20-for-39 (51.3 percent) from beyond the arc in his last 12 games. 

A Naismith Trophy finalist and on the Wooden Award National Ballot, Jackson has been named All-America Second Team by Sporting News, USA TODAY and NBC Sports. Jackson joined KU senior Frank Mason III on the All-Big 12 First Team and was also a unanimous selection for the 2017 Big 12 Freshman of the Year and the Big 12 All-Newcomer Team.

The winner of the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit www.HoophallAwards.com to cast their votes March 10-24.

The winner of the 2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017.The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. EST.

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award include Denzel Valentine of Michigan State (2016) and Stanley Johnson of Arizona (2015).

2017 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Finalists
Jayson Tatum, Duke
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Dillon Brooks, Oregon
Josh Hart, Villanova

Twitter @KUHoops
Instagram @kuhoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.